Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
6
Tasty Minstrel Games Fan
AEG fan
Mage Wars fan
Go to the Sagrada page
9
B. Chereaux {Avid Gamer} May 18th, 2019
“Beautiful Dice Drafting”

This is fast becoming the favorite game in our house. My wife will never turn down a game of Sagrada and after one play, it is not hard to see why. This game is easy to learn, quick to play, and downright beautiful to look at.

The Good:

The components are well made and the translucent, colored dice are awesome. After a few rounds, this one looks gorgeous on the table and you can really see the theme coming through.
The puzzle aspect of the game is engaging and challenging without being cluttered by unnecessary rules.
A full playthrough takes only 30 minutes, so it shouldn’t be hard to keep even the least initiated board gamer interested.

The Not-So-Good:

The cardstock used on the cards feels a little flimsy. This especially bothers me about the window pattern cards since they will be manipulated in and out of frames every time we play
The rules for scoring at the end of the game needed explanations of EACH rule. The rulebook only provided examples of a few, and I have to admit we played a few games wrong and did some puzzle solving after to figure out how to score.

Overall:
This game definitely lives up to the hype, and is one that will be on our shelves for years to come. It plays well as a filler for two or three people in between longer Ameritrash games, or as a main course for up to six players with an optional expansion. I am very happy with the amount of game I got for only 40 bucks!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
3 out of 3 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the The Lord of the Rings: Journeys in Middle-earth page
9
4 of 6 gamers thought this was helpful
brigten {Avid Gamer} Apr 27th, 2019
“Finally a really good game for solo fro FFG”

I own several FFG games, some with solo options. I believe this is one of the best games in a long time. A lot of content i the core set makes the steep price worth it. The building of decks works great and is not cumbersome. Large impact on the game with little fiddling.

The scenarios drives through a coherent story with lot of options for side missions.

Played it solo, but this will also work superb for group gaming.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 6 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
9
Gamer - Level 7
BoardGaming.com Beta 1.0 Tester
Petroglyph
Explorer - Level 3
Go to the Wildlands: The Unquiet Dead page
 
Marvin K. {Avid Gamer} Apr 10th, 2019
“New faction vs new obstacle”

The Unquiet Dead is the first expansion for the Martin Wallace game Wildlands. You can play this as an optional 5th faction although it is still limited to being a 4 player game. The differences on this faction are minor but should only be added to the game after the base game has been played a few times. The first difference is that the undead team has 6 characters instead of 5 like the other teams. Additionally, they only have 2 symbols for the team members. This is why I recommend some experience with the game concepts before adding this team. The 2 symbols are a skull and a hand rising out of the ground. To help reduce confusion in early plays of the game I painted an S and an H on the appropriate figure bases so a player can easily distinguish who can play which cards during the game. The other optional use for this set is as a game obstacle for all players to use. I have only played this expansion a couple of times so far and only as an optional team but plan to try it out as an obstacle in the near future. So far I do like it and plan to keep it incorporated in the game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 4 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
9
Gamer - Level 7
BoardGaming.com Beta 1.0 Tester
Petroglyph
Explorer - Level 3
Go to the Koi page
 
7 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Marvin K. {Avid Gamer} Mar 31st, 2019
“Great bits ”

I enjoy this game very much. The components alone have made me start watching for a used copy of the game so I can have them for use in other games. The game lasts 7 rounds highest score at the end of the 7th round(day) wins the game. Each player is a koi(goldfish) swimming in a large pond. You start with a hand of cards to which you add 3 cards from a common deck. Some of these cards will allow you to move your koi. Other cards allow you to add rocks, cherry blossoms, frogs and lily pads to the pond.The movement cards gave symbols to tell you how to move your koi. If the symbols are in black ink they are mandatory and when you play them you must do the moves. Some are in blue ink and are optional. The symbols are in a vertical column and are read from the bottom of the card upwards. On your turn you can play as many of your cards as you want in any order you choose but may only keep 5 cards in your hand for future play but in general this will not be a problem. There is a deck of weather cards that you will shuffle separately and draw six from laying these out above the board face down before the game starts. Starting with the 2nd round(day) you will reveal a card that will have a game effect for that round. During the game your koi will eat dragonflies and frogs to score points by landing on the space where those components are. If, at the start of a player’s turn there are no dragonflies place more flies on empty lilypads. Most points at end wins the game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
7 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
9
Gamer - Level 7
BoardGaming.com Beta 1.0 Tester
Petroglyph
Explorer - Level 3
Go to the Wildlands page
 
8 of 8 gamers thought this was helpful
Marvin K. {Avid Gamer} Mar 31st, 2019
“Surprising Martin Wallace Game”

This is one of Martin Wallace’s newer games. I introduce it to people who are fans of his game designs as his idea of a fluff game. For those who may not be familiar with his games he tends to create heavier games with more mechanisms in them. I like those types of games but know they are not for everyone. That being said this is a much lighter game than he normally does. I enjoy the game very much and have gotten the 1st expansion and am waiting on a game order which has the second expansion in it. Rather than going into a detailed explanation of the game(for that I recommend going to the Osprey Games website and watching the video) I want to mention why I liked the game. First, the game overall appearance is very nice. The miniatures are nicely detailed and were done with a black wash so details stand out even without painting the miniatures. The game board is 2 sided with the outdoors side adding some additional game rules. The game components are in fitted plastic trays with clear covers on each of the 2 trays so the components do not scatter all over the box when taking the game to your game night. The rules are clearly written so you should not have arguing over what happens when. A player has 2 ways to earn points and will probably do a combination to win the game. If you want a solid game that plays in 1 to 1 1/2 hours playtime I can strongly recommend this game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
8 out of 8 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
Go to the Scythe: The Rise of Fenris page
 
5 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Mark B {Avid Gamer} Mar 13th, 2019
“Showcase for the best of modern board gaming”

I play this with the same group every year, and try to play several times outside of that. Even with new players at a full count, it’s quick–two and half hours max, shorter if everyone knows the rules. Decisions are tense and interesting. Strategies feel rewarding, and the game flows very smoothly. This game took all the things I like about modern board games (place a worker, take an action, build your engine, upgrade, manage resources, tactical movement, excellent blind auction combat, area control, exploration, just the right infusion of story and style), and combined them into one slick package.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
5 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the 5 Second Rule page
2
5 of 6 gamers thought this was helpful
Donovan Zanz Mar 10th, 2019
“Say 3 Words! Yay!”

What it wants to be: Here’s an interesting category, now name 3 things (or the names for a thing) in five seconds!

What it really is: An excuse to use euphemisms for genitalia. You spend more of your turn reading through several cards until you find one that’s actually interesting enough to read to another player, and hear those same three words every time a particular card is played in a game. Repeat this for every round.

Replay: 1 – Extremely Repetitive

Components: 1 – Boring (some meant to be “risque,” but are not really) categories

Easy to Learn: 5 – Read a card, say three words. Can’t get any easier than that.

Overall: Can be challenging when drinking (unless you’ve played more than a couple times), boring when not.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
5 out of 6 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
8
Norway
Book Lover
I play blue
Paladin
Go to the Crypt page
8
9 of 9 gamers thought this was helpful
Elida {Avid Gamer} Feb 23rd, 2019
“Didn`t get enough inheritance?”

Crypt is a dice game where you compete to bring back some good treasures from your father`s tomb.

Yeah, your father is dead…such a shame. Now set your servants to work.

Each player has three dice which represents servants. They are sent into the crypt to bring back treasures, represented with cards. The cards have an image, a value and a color. These colors are also connected to collectors, that give you some extra bonuses. Instead of rolling the dice you set the value on your own. If you want two servants to work for one treasure, you set both dice to the same value; i.e. two 3s, which equals 6. When all dice are set, one player, holding the torch, gets to set any remaining dice if they want. That happens when dice are getting bumped off a card because someone else set a higher value to their dice on the same card.

What happens next? Going into a crypt is hard work for the lowly servants. Each player rolls their dice for each of the cards they obtain. If the value they set on the die/dice is higher than what is rolled, the servant is exhausted, and left in the box for later returns.

The game plays over several rounds, and the one with the highest score/best treasures win.

With this game you also have an opportunity to play solo, against your father`s ghost. Then you roll your father`s dice to see if he kicks out some of your dice, and you try to get a good score in the end by gathering the treasures and keeping your servants with you at the end of the game.

This is a quick, easy, little game, that can be played just about anywhere. It has a nice, new take on dice placement, as you don`t roll the dice to place them, rather to see if you get to keep them in play the next round. The fact that the game comes with an official solo version is an added plus for me these days, since I mostly play solo games. The artwork helps set the mood for the darkish theme, drawings are good. The dice are somewhat small, but they have a small box to fit into.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
9 out of 9 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
Canada
Z-Man Games fan
I play red
Indie Board & Cards fan
Go to the Gizmos page
9
5 of 5 gamers thought this was helpful
iambfg {Avid Gamer} Feb 10th, 2019
“Fast Engine Building Fun”

Ever since Splendor came out in 2014, there has been a bunch of games that have been given the title of “Splendor killer” to the point it really has no meaning. And last summer CMON had a release that many called the “new” Splendor killer. So does Gizmos kill one of my favourite games ever? Or does it offer crazy combos and engine building to stand on it own merits? Let’s hit the lab and find out.

Components

CMON Games started out as Cool Mini Or Not. And while Gizmos does lack killer minis, the production quality is top notch. Start off with it’s spiraled notebook like ascetic, good artwork on square cards, high end transparent marbles, and a really cool marble dispenser, and Gizmos has a very good table presence. I played the game with my niece and the first thing she did was grab a marble and sing its praises. So if you like games with a bit of a toy factor, Gizmos delivers.

Game Play – Basics

Players take turns in a clockwise order, performing one of four actions:

File: File 1 Gizmo from the Display Area.
Pick: Pick 1 Energy of your choice from the Energy Row.
Build: Build 1 Gizmo from the Display Area or from your Archive.
Research: Draw Gizmo cards from 1 of the facedown Level Decks and choose
1 to File or Build.

It’s a pretty simple setup. Play continues until one player has either aquired their 16th Gizmo, or their 4th level 3 Gizmo, triggering the final round. But what makes Gizmos really fun is the engine building that comes out of the game creating some crazy combos.

Game Play – Advanced Tactics

The secret sauce of Gizmos is the way that one action can trigger a bunch of actions. These chain reactions, with one Gizmo triggering another, allows players to set up big turns, score a lot of points, and purchase other Gizmos that seem very expensive. Even better, when you take your turn you get to choose the order that your Gizmos fire off.

One example of a mega combo can be that Sally decides to do the Build action. She chooses a Red card (there is a thematic name for Red, but we will get to that), discarding one Red marble. Based on her other Gizmos Sally is allowed to perform an addition Pick action. Sally picks a Red marble from the general supply. This fires off Sally’s other ability of taking a random marble from the supply when picking a Red marble.

And once you have multiple Gizmos built, you may find yourself firing off multiple actions every turn. One thing to keep in mind is that while there is no limit to the number of Gizmos that may be activated, each Gizmo can only activated once per turn. For some players, you may want to “tap” an activated Gizmo by turning it 90 degrees.

Theme

Gizmos has great table presence, but the theme is pasted on. At no point are you going to call the marbles Heat (Red), Electric (Yellow), Atomic (Blue), or Battery (Black). They are simple Red, Yellow, Blue, and Black.

Replay Value

I still play Splendor. It’s still one of my favourite games. But others feel that after a certain point it gets samey. And while Gizmos offers 108 different Gizmos, most of them do the same types of things. “Pick” Gizmos allow you to grab an extra marble. “Convert” allows you to use a marble as two marbles, or a certain colour of marble as wild. Build, File or Research lets you perform one of the other actions. So after a while this will leave you either feeling you’ve seen all the game has to offer, or feeling like you know what the cards do and wanting to see how you can combo things together.

Over All Impression.

I’ve mentioned Splendor more than once previously, because Gizmos does offer a lot of what Splendor does. Both play in a short amount of time, with really simple rules. Both have you building a tableau that makes future purchases easier. But what really shines in Gizmos is the combos. I often find myself super engaged on another player’s turn not because I want to see what Marbles or cards they are taking away from me, but because I want to see all the combos they fire off on their turn. If you like to engine build and setup combos, I think you will really like Gizmos even if you found yourself tiring of Splendor after a couple of plays.

Gizmos is the kind of game that will constantly hit the table for me, with different types of games, and had earned it’s spot on my game shelf.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
5 out of 5 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
Go to the Dominion page
9
9 of 9 gamers thought this was helpful
Cama891 {Avid Gamer} Feb 4th, 2019
“Masterpiece!”

One of the best deck-building games ever. Easy to learn, easy to carry, hard to master. It’s a peefect game to introduce new players. Every match will be different and its replaying value offers thousand options and choices. Also Expert players could find new strategies in every single play. Althogh its multiple qualities, Dominion is a card game and like all card games is characterized with a percentage of luck that Can determine who finally wins. Expansion aren’t Mandatoriccio, but of you like base game you Will buy them. I suggest Seaside and Intrigue (the second one is also a standalone game).

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
9 out of 9 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile