Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
Go to the Libertalia page
 
1 of 9 gamers thought this was helpful
Brize444 May 25th, 2015
“The Misery Farm have reviewed Libertalia! How to Pirate 101”

Hey guys,

We are ‘The Misery Farm’- 3 Ladies, an assortment of generic gaming buddies, and a*uva lot of games. Here you’ll find humourous, sarcastic, or just plain drunk reviews of board games and board game-related stuff.

We’ve just reviewed Libertalia here – http://themiseryfarm.com/2015/05/24/libertalia-how-to-pirate-101/

We thought the game was fun, fast paced, and yet we still made amusing mistakes throughout. We recommend playing with a large group of friends at least once. We’d love any comments or feedback.

Thanks,
The Misery Farm

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
1 out of 9 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the Dungeons & Dragons: Castle Ravenloft Board Game page
9
8 of 10 gamers thought this was helpful
Clemmensen {Avid Gamer} May 24th, 2015
“This is not a Dungeon Crawl, but a Tactical Co-op game..”

If you would like to play this, or the other games in the series, thinking it’s like “Descent: Journeys into the dark”, then you are going to be dissapointed.

Make no mistake: This game is great! But even if it seem like a Dungeon Crawl, it is more like a Tactical Co-op game. If you are expecting it to be such a game, then you are in for a treat.

This game is about survival. The idea behind spawning monsters in the end of your round and activating them after you move, makes the challenge of placing the heroes critical. A lot of interesting tactical solutions can be made, where each hero and their abilities are important. The missions will get harder, but clever play and good planing, can make the day.

The monsters are quite diverse and the ability to combine all of the games in the series, interchanging both characters and monsters alike, makes the replay value even greater.

So my advice is this: Think of this game as a challenging tactical co-op game and not a dungeon crawl, then you will have a great game in your hands.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
8 out of 10 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the LEVEL 7 [Omega Protocol]  page
10
5 of 10 gamers thought this was helpful
Clemmensen {Avid Gamer} May 24th, 2015
“Awesome tactical game..”

PROS: The “Adrenaline System”, that gives the Overseer more or fewer actions, depending on the players willingness to push themselves, is great!

The Elite soldiers are very unique and add different tactical descisions to the players according to who you choose to be part of the team. Each soldier has 8 special “kit cards” and a handful of generic ones, to customize them even further for each mission. A sentry bot is also included as “specialization”.

The game is very balanced. If you make bad tactical descisions the other side will benefit from your mistake, but not punish you.

Privateer Press has made a great tutorial video (about 17 minutes) which explains the rules thoroughly, which can be found on their website or youtube.

CONS: The miniatures are nice, but “soft”. The quality could have been better.

The map tiles, although cool, is not “fastened” to each other, which makes it easy to “destroy” the map. This is due to the flexibility in the different map layouts and in that way it do make sense, but it is a bit fiddly.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
5 out of 10 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
I Am What I Am
Go to the Conflict of Heroes: Awakening the Bear (second edition) page
10
4 of 11 gamers thought this was helpful
Yokiboy {Power Gamer} May 23rd, 2015
“Impressive Platoon-Level Tactical WWII Wargame”

The entire Conflict of Heroes series is fantastic, and this may still be the pinnacle. The system features some clever eurogame influences, a tense and highly engaging back-and-forth activation system. Academy Games is known for publishing games with outstanding components, and that definitely rings true here. The counters are 1 inch large, printed on thick, full color punchboard. All the map boards are mounted and gorgeous. I’m a huge fan of the tough decisions you face in this fast paced platoon-level wargame where each counter represents an infantry squad, a crewed gun, or an individual vehicle.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 11 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
4
Go to the Patchwork page
8
5 of 11 gamers thought this was helpful
fossilmagic {Casual Gamer} May 22nd, 2015
“Another Rosenberg Hit!!!”

If you are already a fan of Uwe Rosenberg games, this is a must have for you collection. Like other Rosenberg games I have played there are a lot of detail on the components that draw you into the game.
This is a great quick two player game that is easy to learn. As soon as you finish your first game you will want to play again so you can create a better quilt than before. There is a great struggle with trying to finish your own quilt while at the same time trying to force your appoint into using odd shaped pieces.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
5 out of 11 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Rated 25 Games
Go to the A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (2ed) page
9
6 of 12 gamers thought this was helpful
GameFunk {Avid Gamer} May 22nd, 2015
“Feasting with Crows”

Game of Thrones (2nd Ed.) is an excellent game that provides my gaming group hours of fun. The game is great to play with 3 to 6 people, but in many cases works best with four. The Feast for Crows expansion is the perfect example. The expansion is for four players and it changes the base game to a very different type of game. The FFC expansion is based off of the timeline in the Game of Thrones novels. The expansion adds a seventh house the game in House Arryn.
Building upon the same rules used for the game, the FFC expansion adds various objective cards which give the players goals to accomplish to earn victory points. For example, an objective card may give you one to three victory points for taking and holding certain territories.

If you like A Game of Throne but haven’t played the Feast for Crows expansion I highly recommend it as a new,fresh way to play an already great game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
6 out of 12 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
6
Z-Man Games fan
Plaid Hat Games fan
Ireland
Go to the Spartacus: A Game of Blood & Treachery page
8
11 of 11 gamers thought this was helpful
HarryCallaghan79 {Avid Gamer} May 21st, 2015
“His Name is SPARTACUS”

Had my eye on this one because I heard that it was faithful to the show., Yes, I know, the show was cheesy and over the top but what piqued my interest was the fact that the show was overflowing with treachery and murder. People did horrible, evil things to each other to rise to power on the show and I thought, if that level of scheming and backstabbing could be replicated to a board game, then you would have an excellent night every time you opened the box.

Boy was I happy I got this!

To explain why this game is so interesting i am going to go into slightly more detail than I usually do regarding the game play.
The game plays 2 – 4 players and is won when a player reaches an influence level (victory points) of twelve and can keep it there until the end of the phase they are in. I think 4 players is where this game shines. First thing you can all do is decide how long you want the game to be for a short game, 60-90 minutes, put everyone’s influence marker at 7. A medium game, 120-150 minutes, put it at 4 and for an epic night, 180+ minutes, everyone start at 1.

First phase, off the bat is the intrigue phase, everyone draws three scheme cards and your influence decides how many you can hold onto at the end of the phase. The higher the influence, the more cards you can hold to use in later rounds in the game. Crucially, they also require influence to use. If you do not have enough influence, you either keep it until you do, sell the card to the bank for the value printed on it or ask another player for a lend of their influence to use it. You never show or trade these cards with other players but can say they are to effect another player or to help the both of you etc. You don’t have to keep these promises but screwing another player could make you a target. The schemes can lower someones influence or get you gold or influence and generally back-stab each other to your hearts content. Some schemes are defense against these or you can use your guards to who halve a 50/50 chance of protecting you. During this phase each house can also use their house abilities to gain influence or extra cards etc.

Then next phase is the market. Firstly everyone can trade or buy each others assets. Assets are Items, Gladiators and Slaves. They can also sell assets to the bank to get even more money. Then the auction happens, a card is drawn from the market deck, 1 for each player and put face down on the table. As each one is revealed, one at a time, all players can then bid their coins for the item, gladiator or slave. Everyone holds their money under the table and puts whatever they are going to offer into one fist and holds it over the board, once everyone has done this, hands are turned over and the highest bidder gives the money to the bank and collects their prize. Everyone else keeps their money for the next item and all players can bid again. The final thing to bid on is becoming host of the games. Whoever gets that honor immediately gains 1 influence and can invite two schools, including their own to fight in the arena.

The next phase is Combat. If a player has to turn down an invite, (they might have no gladiators or an injured one), they lose influence. Once the players who are fighting have chosen their gladiators and items, all players can bet a maximum of three coins on each bet re the outcome or the way the fight will end. You can bet on who will win or will the fight end in an injury or decapitation. Once all wagers have been… waged???! Combat begins.

Each Gladiator has stats. Say one Gladiator has 3 Attack, 4 Defense and 3 Speed, The player Takes 3 Red Dice(ATK), 4 Blue Dice(DEF) and 3 Blue Dice(SPD). First SPD dices are rolled, highest total gets initiative and goes first. He has 3 Blue so can move three spaces. If he is in range he can then roll his 3 Red, while the other player rolls his black to defend.
In Risk style dices are compared, Highest to highest in descending order. Each Higher Red is a wound and all ties got to defender as a block. If a gladiator takes two wounds, he then has to pick two dice to drop from his total. Does he take it from speed lowering his chance for initiative and how many spaces he can move? Does he remove Defense and increase his danger of Damage? Or does he weaken his chance of hurting the other gladiator? Once both players have taken their turn they roll for initiative and go again.
All dices get taken away as the fight continues until one of each colour remain. Then, when the final blow happens, if the gladiator has two dice remaining they have given up, if they have one dice left, they are injured, if they have nothing left, DECAPITATION!

The losing gladiator (if they haven’t died) must now face the host. The host holds his thumb out sideways. If he wants to be gracious or take bribes from the losing player he puts his thumb up, the gladiator lives. If he is feeling nasty, thumb down. That player loses a Gladiator. Winner of the fight gains influence and the favor of the crowd. That gladiator will now start making money and will be harder to give the thumb down to.

Final phase is upkeep. Any assets, whose abilities were exhausted are refreshed to be used again. Players try to heal their gladiators so they can fight again, stay injured or die from their wounds. Then players balance the books, earning one gold from the bank per slave and losing one gold per gladiator. Not enough money for your gladiator? lose him.

That’s the end of the round, do it all again and enjoy! This game is great, you can be evil or fair and still win. What’s interesting though, is that each time we have played everyone does something bad to someone. Just like the over-the-top, glorious show it is based on!

Replay Value: This kick started our 2nd official league last week and has been played the first two nights with everyone asking for the expansion which increases player numbers to 6! Devious and fun in all phases, you will play this again and again.

Components: Nice little Gladiator figures and a ton of dice, plus interesting good quality cards that hold the theme excellently.

Easy to Learn: Once all phases are played, everyone has an idea of how it works and… let the games begin!

Go out and get it!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
11 out of 11 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
United Kingdom
Advanced Reviewer
Knight-errant
Tinkerer
Go to the The Hare & the Tortoise page
7
15 of 15 gamers thought this was helpful
Rob Harper {Avid Gamer} May 19th, 2015
“Fast, light and fun. Plus slow and steady sometimes really does win.”

The Hare & the Tortoise is a simple race game. You and the other players play cards which move five animals along a racetrack, with different rules for moving each animal so, for example, the fox simply moves as many spaces as cards have been played for it, and the tortoise plods along one space, even if no cards have been played, though can move faster if four tortoise cards have been played that round.

At the start of the game, players back two animals (or three in a two-player game), being dealt one unique “starter” card each (two in a two-player game) and choosing another from a hand of cards. These are secret wagers that are revealed at the end of the game and players are awarded points according to the finishing positions of the animals they backed.

The secret backing of animals means that part of the game is about not being too obvious about wanting a certain animal to win. Though you may well find that your goals coincide with another player, at which point you can team up to help your animal along.

All of this plays really quickly and doesn’t take long to explain. Plus there are handy reference cards to remind everyone how each animal moves, and in what order.

I have played this in a few groups now, and often hear someone saying that one of the animals seems particularly weak. The thing is that each group seems to mention a different animal, and I have seen all of them win more than once, so I think that speaks well for the balance of the game.

What does seem to make more of a difference, though, is the number of players. With two players you have two “starter” animals to back, and one choice, so the game is essentially a battle between the animals you *don’t* share, which is fine but quite luck-based. With three players, you can often find that you aren’t sharing an animal with anyone, which can be a problem, or the player who shares one animal with each of the other players has a huge advantage. On the other hand, with three players, there is a good chance that there are two animals not being supported at all, and that can make for an interesting dynamic. With four or five players things seem to work more comfortably.

With any player count, though, this is a fast game with a large element of chance, some tactical play, and a little bit of bluffing and reading of other players. I have found it works well as a family game, a quick lunchtime bit of fun, or a filler, and I thoroughly enjoy it as such. Sometimes you don’t want to be thinking too hard.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
15 out of 15 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
Bronze Supporter
Novice Reviewer
Mask of Agamemnon
USA
Go to the Run, Fight or Die! page
7
10 of 27 gamers thought this was helpful
Dark Pharaoh {Power Gamer} May 18th, 2015
“Run, Fight, or Die!... better than Zombie Dice”

‘Run, Fight’ or Die!’ is a great little press-your-luck dice-rolling game that will scratch the ***************** itch without a huge investment in either setup or play time. Even with many players, the turns pass quickly, without the feeling of downtime associated with other zombie apocalypse games.

The components are cool, from the plastic miniature zombies to the customized dice. The artwork on the cards and boards is nice, edging toward the humurous rather than the horrific. The rules are simple and easy to learn and the game is great fun for adults and kids, alike.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
10 out of 27 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
8
Go to the Agents of SMERSH page
 
36 of 60 gamers thought this was helpful
bgknighton {Social Gamer} May 18th, 2015
“not for me”

I prefer games that are quick to play or are lightweight(not all that strategic.) I was talked into this by my group and it is unfortunately everything I don’t like in a game. So, while I’m sure that there are many people who like this type of game I will not add an explanation of the game as I don’t think I will do justice to it. Apparently, it is not enough to say I don’t like it and why I must be verbose about it to.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
36 out of 60 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile