Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
2
Book Lover
Go to the Munchkin page
9
38 of 45 gamers thought this was helpful
“Munchkin will End Friendships”

Munchkin: the game of killing things, looting, and screwing your friends over!

With the right group of friends, this game is a blast. Easy to learn, quick to play, and small enough to take anywhere. But, if you have certain friends that are sore losers, don’t play this game with them. Seriously. Don’t. If you have friends that hold petty grudges, don’t play this with them. Everyone else will love it. There are hundreds of different genres for this game, you will find some version of Munchkin to love.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
38 out of 45 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Book Lover
Go to the Zombicide page
 
38 of 44 gamers thought this was helpful
“I was dragged into this, but it wasn't all bad.”

Zombies have been done to death. Sorry about the pun, but it’s true. Everything is zombie-killing-centric and it’s driving me to rage.

With that being said, I actually enjoyed Zombiecide. The mechanics are easy, the gameplay is more action-oriented than other zombie based games, and the learning curve is pretty smooth.

If you love zombie slaying games (which seems to be just about everyone) get this game. And if, like me, you’re sick of zombie games, there’s a mode where you get to play as the zombies. Ya know, just in case the zompocalypse doesn’t entirely go in your favor.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
38 out of 44 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Book Lover
Go to the Magic: The Gathering page
9
37 of 43 gamers thought this was helpful
“The game you keep coming back to”

I’ve tried to quit M:tG on several occasions, mostly due to their business practice, but the game itself is so easy to play and the mythos is so vast that I can’t help but being dragged back into the fold, either as a collector or a player.

It’s the game that started it all. It’s the game that, by this point, almost every geek in any level of schooling has played. There is a reason this stuff is called ‘cardboard crack’. Hook ‘em when they’re young, and you’ve got ‘em for life.

I love, and always will love, this game and it’s world. I’m just not a fan of Hasbro of the Coast sometimes.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
37 out of 43 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
I'm a Player!
Go to the Tokaido page
8
36 of 43 gamers thought this was helpful
Sikosis {Casual Gamer} Aug 26th, 2015
“Relaxing yet cut-throat”

Tokaido is an excellent, relaxing paced board game whilst also being extremely cut-throat as other players can effect the outcome of your movement and play. Very easy rules but flexible enough to have replayability. Great with family, kids and friends.

I haven’t played the expansion, though I’ve heard it’s best to have at least 10 play throughs of the original game before including the expansion and for new players, it’s best to exclude the expansion – Crossroads.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
36 out of 43 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
Go to the Munchkin Apocalypse page
 
37 of 42 gamers thought this was helpful
Erik Ard {Avid Gamer} Aug 26th, 2015
“The Seven Seals!!!!”

Munchkin Apocalypse is basically the same as any other Munchkin game except for there are new cards called the Seals of Apocalypse. If seven seals are opened the game ends with the person who has the highest combat bonus winning. On top of this each open seal has an effect on the game as well as giving each monster a +1 bonus for each open seal. I’ve played a lot of munchkin and must say I enjoy this version the most because the games are usually short, and most games end due to the seals rather than getting to level 10. Overall, what I think you should know is that the apocalypse edition is much harder to win by getting to ten and usually ends faster than a regular game of munchkin due to the seals opening. Other than the seals, there are a lot of treasures and items and even a disaster proof tent, which, in crossover games, can be ridiculously good since it makes you immune to traps, curses, disasters, etc. Theres a lot of fun to be had with Munchkin apocalypse and definitely recommend for Munchkin fans. If you want shorter munchkin games, or want a more challenging route to level 10, Munchkin apocalypse is for you!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
37 out of 42 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
Z-Man Games fan
Plaid Hat Games fan
Ireland
Junior Reporter
Go to the Spartacus: The Serpents and the Wolf Expansion page
9
37 of 42 gamers thought this was helpful
HarryCallaghan79 {Avid Gamer} Aug 26th, 2015
“Bring on the Primus!!!”

I love expansions that bring more to a game but do not change the core experience. Spartacus, Serpents and Wolf definitely does this. So what does this add-on bring to the already excellent game, I hear you ask? Let me go through each part and what it adds:

1, 2 extra schools/ Dominuses. The game can now be played in 5 and 6 player, It may take longer but it is still as interesting as ever. Also the new house abilities really mix up the game during the intrigue phase.

2, Extra Intrigue and Market cards. This means extra gladiators, slaves and items. New intrigues that really can decimate someone when they are losing their influence and cards that now require you to be higher or lower in influence against the player you are using them on. There is also a new Asher card to replace the old that allows him to switch sides in a Primus (team fight), really highlighting the sneakiness of this character and making him more valuable.

3, The Primus. Once a player hits 10 influence he can host a primus which is a two versus two fight. This makes the race for the end of the game quicker and incredibly exciting.

Replay Value: The cards are designed to be used at all times in the game, no matter how many players. This makes it even more varied and enjoyable to come back to.

Components: Two new gladiator figures, new cards of decent quality with that great look from the show. No faults here.

Easy to Learn: Nothing has changed just one or two new rules to incorporate and very easy to understand.

All in all, think of this as an enhancement, rather than an expansion. Just get it to improve your game!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
37 out of 42 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
BoardGaming.com Beta 1.0 Tester
Go to the Splendor page
5
45 of 52 gamers thought this was helpful
Angrod Vardamir {Avid Gamer} Aug 26th, 2015
“This isn't feel like gaming”

Okay, many people would think the opposite. Splendor is awesome and most people love to play this like crazy, no exception to my friends but not me. I tried the game twice and felt flat. The game is not a game. All you need to do is to get the best course of action to collect the thing you need as fast as you can and get to end the game. A racing game of tableau building gems.

Players will collect gems and use these gems to buy more better gems that will eventually give them points. Doesn’t feel thematic for me and doesn’t give me enjoyment feel playing the game. It’s very abstract and once you immerse with the game, it’s no longer important about the gem or theme. It boils down only to the core mechanic.

I, myself call this not a game, maybe a racing system to prove who’s the fastest to accumulate something. But I can realize why most people like it. The game is simple and very easy to teach to casual / non-gamers. You can play with family or even children (this could be a good way to teach them, it provides a good deal of knowledge in it).

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
45 out of 52 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
I'm a Real Person
Go to the Battleball page
6
39 of 44 gamers thought this was helpful
3X']['REME {Family Gamer} Aug 25th, 2015
“Excellent roll & move football game for young kids”

From a dad’s point of view, this is a great “roll and move” board game. I play this game all the time with my 4 year old boy and we absolutely love it. The miniatures that come with this game are high quality and can take a beating. The dice mechanics of rolling are great for teaching him colors, numbers, and counting the pips on dice and spaces on the board.

After a while of playing, I noticed he started to understand the strategy with the d20 side dice versus the d6 sided. He now realizes that if he rolls the d6, he has a better chance at tackling a player, but not a good chance to run far as opposed to a d20 character. This is an excellent game for teaching probabilities, demonstrating gamesmanship, and spending time with you child. This game is not for everyone, and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone other than kids (that’s why there are kids on the box playing this). The game plays are quick, around 20 minutes each. The games components are wonderful to look at and play.

You can alter the rules to this game very easy without taking too much away. We started off by putting our players in time-out when they got tackled or malfunctioned until he understood what it meant. After more plays, it is really easy to ramp up the rules and to not lose your kids attention. I recommend this game to anyone that has kids (ages 3-6, probably the best) and wants to introduce them to tabletop games.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
39 out of 44 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the Gloom page
8
38 of 45 gamers thought this was helpful
Gasvaer Aug 25th, 2015
“Dark”

Dark humour and funn if you and your friends love telling random stories.
you have some family members that you have to play cards on and tell a storry on how it happend.
and the more horrible a death your family have and the more suffering it has. the more points you score. its werry funn.

Keep in mind if the people you play with dont want or arent good to tell stories it can loose some of its funn. but it sure has a great replay value.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
38 out of 45 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
Go to the Splendor page
9
41 of 49 gamers thought this was helpful
Philip Zwart {Avid Gamer} Aug 24th, 2015
“Current favourite, highly addictive”

I love this game! Its totally addictive, easy to learn but surprisingly strategic and challenging too. The heavy weight gems have great hand-feel and the artwork on the cards is excellent. I have the special edition with the play mat and special gem tokens, this gives it an even more special feel. I you are a fan of the game I recommend the special edition if you can find it, it just adds some luxury to it.

The game plays very quickly, never more than 30 – 35 minutes. Everybody gets really engaged and there is plenty of interaction. My gamer group keeps asking to replay this, I think it will be a favourite with us for a long time.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
41 out of 49 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile