Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
6
Finland
Novice Reviewer
Strategist
Go to the Star Realms page
7
12 of 12 gamers thought this was helpful
SockDrawerMonster {Avid Gamer} Mar 28th, 2015
“Pick a card, any card”

And I make sure you’ll pay for taking the one I wanted!
Star Realms is well balanced deckbuilding game which takes from Magic the Gathering (last I played Magic was in 2006, so be lenient on this reference), remove its flaws and improves upon. It’s cheap, easy, fast, so perfect filler, but does it rise above that?

Mechanical machinations (Summary)
This game is for 2 players only, of course there is rules for more players (up to 6). That takes a huge bite on claim that this is a cheap game, since you need additional decks to play these. I found that it’s more fun to play several individual 2 player games than Emperor or Hydra mode. Now this is my opinion, but I feel this game is best on 2 player format.

In beginning of game each player starts with set of 10 base cards (2 damage and 8 purchase cards). In middle is 5 common cards and one increased purchase card (value 2 compared on value 1 of base cards) which can be bought from value you have on your hand. Game goes around turn to turn where you try damage your enemy while bolstering your defenses and buying best cards you can. It’s really simple, bring your opponents authority (health) to zero and you win.

Base set has restricted amount of cards from which to choose and you’ll get very familiar with them as you start to expect them in hopes of graping them before your opponent. Card are quite diverse from each others and factions have nice touch on it, since you can combo them very neatly. However sticking with specific faction is tough and benefits on them are extremely similar within the faction which reduces the diversity. You pretty much need to have some Machine Cult (Red faction – not the game from 2001, thank you Volition) cards if you dream to get rid of the starting cards which are dead weight on your deck by halfway of the game. There are other cards like Recycling Station (space station which acts as buffer on your health and has abilities like all the cards do), but these get targeted instantly as they come to game, so benefit is short lived.

Some cards can be discarded from game by activating their special ability, which is good, but on most of them won’t be used unless it gives you that edge to get the last damage to your opponent.
More than often the game can be decided on what initial hand you get on first 3 deck shuffling rounds, especially against experienced players. You’ll notice that on most cases all players go for same cards and some get ignored completely.

Oooh! Pretty ships! (Components)
Not much to say here since it all is in cards. Art is beautiful and very thematic, symbols are few and clear on what they do. Special effects on card are written in plain english, which is good and bad same time. Unlike in 7 Wonders Leaders where you have to look on references what is what, you just read it. However it means that it’s too much for smaller kids, especially for non-native english speakers, which is sad since this is a great game for them.

I do think they could have used better way of tracking authority. This is my only complaint on components. Pen and paper is superior solution on my books.

Don’t fly in the mouth of Blob Carrier (Learning curve)
Name of the game is easy to learn, it won’t take much to teach to new players after you pull this out from your pocket. There are 5 symbols in whole game you need to distinguish from each others.

Mastering the game isn’t all too difficult either, so to get up to par players in short time isn’t hard. However you will be seeing yourself on mirror almost every time you play, since path to victory is often similar.

Within realm of stars (Conclusion)
So let’s take a look on earlier statement:
Cheap – Arguable, single deck yes, multiple ones come rather expensive in end. Has the makings of LCG so prepare to say goodbye to your money.
Easy – Most definitely, one of the easiest games to learn out there.
Fast – Games range from 15 min and up, so yup, you won’t be going Arkham Horror with this one.

This game is great as filler, if you have multiple decks, on game evening or if you need to burn through some waiting time. However I have to say that this has not made it on table with my game evening gang, just as time passer while we wait missing players. There are so many more in depth card games that I find more fun, such as 7 Wonders, Among the Stars, Gloom or Race for the Galaxy. It is better than many other games though and it is fun for certain, just don’t expect to breathe life on it for long with base deck.

I find this game fun to extent, but I have found I play it more often on mobile app than with anybody in person and to pass the time rather than for fun of it. Demo version of the app is free, so I suggest you try it out before buying the game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
12 out of 12 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Gamer - Level 3
Go to the Firefly: The Game page
 
9 of 11 gamers thought this was helpful
MikeP {Avid Gamer} Mar 28th, 2015
“A TV show based game that's actually good”

When a member of my board game group pulled this out a few weeks ago a collective groan came from round the table. Invariably games with a theme developed from popular media are dissapointing at best and we expected no better from Firefly.

Boy were we wrong. This game not only captures the feeling of the series perfectly but is also well designed (game play and components) making the game highly enjoyable and extremely repayable.

The rules are easy to follow to most players. Very casual gamers may need a couple of reads of the rulebook, but should be fine after that. Game play follows you a captain of a firefly class ship travelling across the galaxy to do jobs from a number of contacts. Will you stick to the straight and narrow doing low paying but safe jobs for Hakan or try for the more lucrative illegal and immoral jobs from other contacts such as Niska or Badger. But beware if you get caught by the Alliance, fines and confiscation await you. Also beware the reavers, whatever jobs you do they will come for you. Both cruiser and reaver are controlled by your adjacent players meaning that most players remain engaged throughout the game. Additionally bettween jobs you can visit supply depots to buy upgrades or hire crew, pick up additional cargo or resupply yourself with parts and fuel needed to move quickly across space.

This game has quickly become a group favourite and is played at nearly every session

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
9 out of 11 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
6
Master Grader
I'm Completely Obsessed
Baron / Baroness
The Silver Heart
Go to the Carcassonne page
8
10 of 17 gamers thought this was helpful
Tom {Casual Gamer} Mar 26th, 2015
“Carcassonne is a Great Place to Start...”

Games like Ticket to Ride, Settlers of Catan, and Carcassonne are often labeled as “gateway” games. They are games you bring out for friends and family members whose gaming experience consists of Monopoly, Scrabble, Battleship, and the usual toy department fare. So the gamer gets an opportunity to introduce a wonderful hobby and pastime to the uninitiated. It’s a big responsibility, and the right game is critical. Carcassonne is one of the best vehicles for showing newbies that there is life after Milton Bradley and Hasbro.

A gateway game not be overly long or overly complex, or else it may be intimidating or off putting. It should be visually appealing and have quality components. Most importantly, it should be fun to play. Carcassonne meets or exceeds all these standards. The toughest thing about learning and teaching Carcassonne is scoring. Some scoring is done during the game, and some is completed at the end of the game.

Carcassonne has loads of expansions and different themed editions like “South Seas” and the “Winter Edition” with snow and gingerbread men. There is even a new base edition with updated artwork and two expansions. What’s not to like about Carcassonne? It plays in 30 minutes and supports 2-5 players. No matter how you recruit new game lovers, doing so is a service to each of us. Carcassonne is a great place to start a lifetime of gaming.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
10 out of 17 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Reviewed My First Game
Z-Man Games fan
Go to the Machi Koro  page
9
9 of 20 gamers thought this was helpful
XooX {Avid Gamer} Mar 26th, 2015
“Forget about Monopoly and play Machi Koro”

General:
Machi Koro is a Japanese bingo style/easy to learn/card/city building/dice rolling game.
In the game some times your income is depended on other players dice roll as Monopoly, but this game is much more faster much more balanced and relaxing. Other than Monopoly which the main goal of the game is to eliminate the other players, the main goal of this game is to race for being the player who completes advancement of the city, first.

Components:

Cards: Absorbing graphic design of the city Establishments are friendly and illustrative and divers.(Use the plastic in the box to keep them organised).

Money Tokens: very simple and though cardboard tokens are used to pay the bank to construct establishment and pay other players for their cafes and restaurant establishments.

Dices: Dice roll results activate City Establishment cards effects and cards effect will be resolved in the order of Restaurants and cafes that make dice roller player to pay the cost to establishment owner/s then the cards with earning effects will be activated and then the advanced industries with special abilities will be activated, there are 2 normal 6 sided dice in the game and players start with one and after building Train station players may roll the second one, now players have chance to roll for more than “6” that activate more powerful cards effects.

Conclusion:

Machi Koro is a fast pace adorable card building game and is perfect for families, i suggest forget about Monopoly and play Machi Koro.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
9 out of 20 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
6
I play blue
Spread the Word
Go to the 7 Wonders page
9
30 of 30 gamers thought this was helpful
gamerdad {Avid Gamer} Mar 24th, 2015
“A Wondrous Game”

For me, this game is wondrous. I can’t stop playing it, nor can my wife – my mom even loves it! This game has a really intriguing balance of simplicity and strategic depth. It’s a game where people can sit around the table and talk and have fun, yet it can also be very deep and calculated. For these reasons, I think this is a game that could be enjoyed by gamers of all types.

7 Wonders is a game for 2-7 players, although it is best for 3-7. The two player variant isn’t much fun in my opinion. Anyway, each player receives a wonder to play, which is represented on its respective wonder board. (If you want to randomize it, there are wonder cards which can be passed out.) Each player starts out with 3 coins and a resource that their city produces.

The object of the game is to score the most victory points, and there are many ways to do that. There are three stages to this game – Age I, II, and III. Each age gets progressively more complex, but not more difficult. At the start of each age, each player is dealt 7 cards (more on what the cards do in a minute). The player must determine what will benefit him/her the most, but choose wisely! Once everyone selects a card to play, the cards you had in your hand will now get passed to your neighbor, and you will receive a new set of cards (now 6 cards, because everyone passes). After each age, resolve military conflicts (explained soon) and pass out cards for the next age. Like I said before, they get more complex as you progress because, theoretically, you will have more resources to build things, and building things gives you points.

Now, a short description of the various cards. There are 6 different types of cards, and they are conveniently color coordinated – Resource cards (brown or gray), Military cards (red), Civilian cards (blue), Commerce cards (yellow), Science cards (green) and Guild cards (purple).

To quickly explain, resource cards are needed to build things. On many cards there is a cost which is represented by different icons on the top-left side of each card. You must have those resources to play the card. If you don’t, you can always purchase them from your neighbors sitting directly beside you for two coins per resource. So, you’ll need resources.

Commerce cards help you get resources from your neighbors for less money, or provide you resources no one else can purchase. On some occasions, they can also give you money and victory points.

Military cards put you at odds with your neighbors. At the end of each age, count up your military icons, and determine who wins. You get points for winning (1,3,5 points for Age 1,2,3 respectively). You get -1 point for each military loss. So, if you beat your neighbors every age, you could rack up 18 victory points while giving each neighbor -3 victory points.

Civilian cards are just straight victory points. The highest scoring card in the game is a civilian card, worth 8 points, and it costs one of every resource.

Science cards, in my opinion, are the trickiest piece of the game, but when played correctly, they can really boost your score. Each science card will have one of three icons on it – a compass, a tablet, or a wheel. You get points for getting a set of each icon – 7 points per set. In addition to that, you also get the number of a particular icon squared. Sounds tricky, right? Don’t worry, it’s hard to visualize, but the rulebook does a good job of explaining. Say you have 3 cards that have the compass icon. That would give you 9 points, since 3 squared is 9. Ok, I’ll move on so your brain doesn’t explode…just rest assured that you’ll get it quickly.

Guild cards are only available in the third age, and they often cost a good amount of resources, but yield a good amount of points, depending on what you and your neighbors have constructed over the course of the game. They can be the difference between winning and losing.

I didn’t mention earlier, but you also get points for building your wonder. To build a stage of your wonder, simply take a card from your hand and place it under the stage of your wonder board. That is the card you play for your turn, and you cannot play another card that turn. Each city gives a unique ability that will benefit the person using it. What if you can’t play a card in your hand, or what if you need money? Pick a card in your hand and discard from the game for that turn. Discarding a card gives you 3 coins. At the end of the third age, the game is over. Resolve your final military conflicts and total up all of the points you scored, and whoever has the highest score wins.

Enough about what the game is like and how it’s played. Now I get to talk about why I love it. This game is quick and simple. It takes the same amount of time for 2 people as it does for 7 people, because it’s always your turn – everyone plays at the same time. That makes it really easy to play in 30 minutes as long as everyone knows how to play. The artwork is fantastic and beautiful to look at, although when playing, you don’t really think to admire it. The wonder boards are equally spectacular. The components are well made, however I recommend getting sleeves for your cards, because they may start to get worn out edges from being shuffled and passed all the time.

Another strong positive about this game is its replay value. While you will see the same cards each time you play, the game will play out differently because of the way they’re randomized through shuffling and dealing, your wonder, and the wonders of your opponents. I love that you have to play with a new strategy every time. After a while, you will see a few strategies that work for you, and you can adjust and interchange them as you play.

Like I said before, the game is simple – the cards are pretty intuitive and it doesn’t take a whole lot to see what you are able to play and pick a card. For that reason, this is a fun game to play with people and build a civilization. But, you can also really break this game down and consider what to play from many different angles. What will help me the most? What would hurt my neighbors? Should I keep them from getting anything? What is most beneficial to me in the long run? All of these questions make for some fun decision making and risk taking. Look up a statistical analysis of this game, and it will show you how deep and complex it can be. Truly amazing.

Now for some drawbacks to this game. The game is called 7 wonders, but it doesn’t really have the feel of building a powerful ancient civilization. You could keep these same basic concepts and make any theme you want – sci fi, fantasy, you name it – and the game would feel the same. But a weak theme does not take away from the gameplay.

Also, if someone isn’t accustomed to playing games, there may be some confusion. I said earlier that this game is intuitive, and that is assuming that you’ve played games. All of the icons on the cards can be overwhelming. The best way to learn the game is to play it, and to have someone who knows the game well to sit beside you and walk you through it. After the first game I played, I got slaughtered, but I understood why I lost and immediately wanted to play again – and I got much better results.

The rulebook is ok. There is a lot going on, but for the most part, it does a good job of explaining the game. The quick rules sheets that come along with the game are the most helpful to me.

Based on all I’ve written so far, I hope you get a sense of how fun and intriguing and addictive this game is. I recommend that everyone at least try it as I think just about everyone can find something they’d like about it. I haven’t even been tempted to get the expansions to this game because I haven’t tired of this one yet. If you’re still reading, go pick this one up! You’ll love it.

Finally, I want to end this review by thanking my wife for getting this for me as a gift. You know me too well, and I’m glad you enjoy it almost as much as I do!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
30 out of 30 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Reviewed My First Game
Go to the Pixel Lincoln page
7
11 of 25 gamers thought this was helpful
Zipperback {Avid Gamer} Mar 23rd, 2015
“Super retro fun. ”

Pixel Lincoln is a fantastic retro journey through an excellent 8-bit reality with humor, easy to employ rules, and whimsical fun. Island Officials hit an 8-bit home run with this one.
The box comes complete with a hefty amount of components, each maintaining the fun theme of the nation’s greatest president kicking butt while navigating through a side scrolling adventure. The rule book is a little unclear at times, but the rules themselves are simple and easily implemented into the game. An attractive key to this game is a solo play option as well as a great theme of the side scrolling games that dominated video gaming for so long.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
11 out of 25 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
Canada
Intermediate Reviewer
Old Bones
Go to the San Juan page
8
64 of 65 gamers thought this was helpful
“Dynamic Engine Builder”

My interest in San Juan started when I bought the app for my iPod. I could easily find myself getting lost in time as I built up my tableau of cards representing the buildings in a district of San Juan. I had not played Puerto Rico and therefore had no experience with some of the key mechanics of the game. I loved the variable role selections that were offered and the clever use of the dual purposed cards as both buildings and currency. It was a new experience in hand management and very enjoyable at that.

GAMEPLAY

San Juan is a card driven game where players are building up their own district in San Juan. Players start with a random selection of cards and a basic production building to get their tableau started. At the begining of the turn, the first player is considered the governor for the round (this role rotates clockwise each round) and select one of a number of roles that will give all players an identified action in the round. The player that selects the specific role gains an added benefit for that action. These actions will allow players to build (pay for the construction of buildings that are added to the tableau), produce (allowing their production buildings to produce goods), trade (allowing players to sell their goods), counsellor (permits players to draw a number of cards and select one of these cards), and prospecting (generally only affects the prospecting player allowing them to receive a free draw).

Players build their respective tableaus by paying for and placing the buildings in their player area. The buildings themselves also afford special player powers and sometimes have cumulitive effects that are triggered by the various role selections. Buildings are divided into 2 categories: Production and Civic. The production buildings range from low value product such as Indigo up to the Silver Smelting which has the highest trade value. The Civic buildings afford players their various ability modifiers. These buildings range in effectiveness and usefulness, and like the production buildings, vary in cost that reflects the usefullness to the player.

The end game is triggered when the first player fills up their tableau with 12 cards. In the round when this occurs, the round is completed and players tally their scores as reflected on the building cards. There is more to this game that I ahve not explained such as the use of the unplayed building cards as currency and the variable trading chart that reflects trade values. However, the basic fundamentals have been described.

The game plays with 2-4 players but shines when played with 4 players. Gameplay with experiened players is generally around 35-45 min but much longer with inexperienced players as their is a steep learning curve to players that are not familiar with this style of play.

COMPONENTS

The components of this game consist of the cards and role selection tiles. The copy that I have is the 2nd edition. The cards in this edition are a Eurpoean sized card and one that I find to be a little small, my preference for a game that consists entirely of cards is the American sizing. The artwork on the cards is simple and not very exciting, the description of the building modifiers can sometimes leave inexperienced players scratching their heads as they try to determine their meaning.

Another issue is the confusing colour schemes with production buildings vs. the civic buildings. In the first edition, all civic buildings had a violet background and each production building had its own specific colour. This was a very simple yet effective manner to differentiate buildings. However in this edition, all the colours have been muted and the civic buildings now have an aged parchment colour that blends into the colour of the production buildings. I have found this to be barrier to new players as they attempt to learn this game.

The cards of reasonable quality but I would have prefered a card with linen finish and more defined graphics and colour.

OVERALL IMPRESSIONS

Despite some of the production woes of this game, I have found that it provides some very strategic, and at times, challenging gameplay. Players are always in a position to decide between saving their cards to build higher point valued and effective buildings vs. completing their tableau quickly so as not to be too far behind the other players. There can be a noticible learning curve to this game if no one at the table has any experience with San Juan and players are being guided by the rule book alone. However, once players become experienced in this game, it can be a very rewarding play time with a very dynamic challenge. I love this game but realize that it will not be for everyone.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
64 out of 65 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Legend of the Five Rings Fan
Crane Clan - Legend of the Five Rings
Smash Up Fan
Go to the Legend of the Five Rings page
9
25 of 25 gamers thought this was helpful
Ragu {Avid Gamer} Mar 23rd, 2015
“My one truly beloved CCG”

For years I was a Magic player. From time to time I would walk away, but inevitably I would return to it’s siren call. Until I discovered Legend of the Five Rings.

Being in the CCG hobby I was aware of L5R, but never quite got it. The art and layout of many of the early cards turned me off. Two decks? What’s that about?! It wasn’t until I was introduced to the fiction that L5R really hit for me. I had picked up the L5R books for D&D of all things, and found a rich world with compelling characters and flavor filled history. This lead me to seek out the CCG and at least look into it.

Right about then Gold Edition released, and was a terrific jumping on point. The cards featured new (and in my opinion more attractive) frames and a large meta story was just starting. I found a playgroup, picked up my first Crane deck (gotta love dueling), and it was over for me. I was smitten.

I took an extended break from all other forms of gaming. I studied the top decks and thought of ways to beat them piloting my beloved Cranes. I LOVED that the players had such profound affect on the story at large. Many tournaments offered story prizes in addition to cash prizes… and players would SET BOUNTIES, often very large “gifts” to entice players who won to choose the bounty’s story choice. Stranger yet, more often than not players would REJECT these lucrative bounties in favor of their own story choices! Coming from the ultra competitive and “cash driven” MTG this both amazed and delighted me. I did well enough in my area and was a formidable opponent before long. I played through to the end of Diamond edition, the following Arc and end of the Meta story. Then life happened.

I rejoined the military and though I sought out players I found none in the areas I was stationed. L5R took a back seat to other things and we grew apart. Fast forward several years to the release of Celestial Edition and War of Honor. What GORGEOUS new frames! Who were all of these new characters?! What happened to my Crane in the interim (in game) decades? Structured multiplayer?! Joy!

I bought a starter for each clan and built decks for me to play with anyone who would play: my wife, unsuspecting friends, etc. I essentially created my own L5R LCG. A couple years later with the release of Emperor Edition I picked up a Starter box and after much trading leveraged in into a self contained L5R drafting cube. Admittedly I don’t get to play it often, but I still look in on L5R from time to time, if for no other reason than I love the fiction and the wonderful community of players.

So that is my not quite review, but my declaration of love for Legend of the Five Rings. The game itself is incredibly rewarding and deep. The manufacturer revels in providing value to their loyal players. The ravenous fans are among the best and most welcoming for new players I have ever met. I cannot say enough good things about L5R. If you have any doubts whether the game might be for you please at least check out the fiction and see if the your interest is not at least piqued.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
25 out of 25 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
Canada
Intermediate Reviewer
Old Bones
Go to the Age of War page
7
26 of 27 gamers thought this was helpful
“Simple Dice Filler”

I will preface this review by advising of my general lack of interest of Reiner Knizia games. While I appreciate that he is a very intelligent man and an accomplished game designer, I generally find his games lack theme and feel like an IQ quiz in boardgame format. That being said, this game sparked my interest in part because of its low cost and also for its large player count accommodation. Given that I’m also a sucker for Fuedel Japan, I thought that this would be a low risk game investment.

GAMEPLAY

The story behind this game is that each player represents a Fuedel Lord that seeks to overcome other clans and their respective castles. This is accomplished through players rolling 7 dice that have been designed with graphics to represent Infantry, Cavalry, Archers, and a Daimyo (sp?). Through rolling the dice (and susequent rerolls) players amass the military units required to conquer a chosen castle based on the military requirements listed on the card. A sinmple but effective mechanic in this game has players reducing the number of dice they roll based on achieveing the miliatry requirements for each castle. You are either able to conquer a single castle in a single turn or you aren’t, its that simple.

Each clan has a number of castles ranging from 1-5. Each castle is assigned a numeric point value based on the difficulty to conquer the castle. If a player is successful at conquering all of a clans castles, the clan is deemed to be conquered and is free from being attacked (or stolen) by other players. However, if you do not hold all of a clans castles, you may find yourself subject to attack and lose ownership to a rival player. Once all castles have been conquered from the common playing area, the game ends and players tally their castle points.

Gameplay is very simple and games can range from 10 min to about 25 min (in a 6 player game).

COMPONENTS

As is in the case of any other Fantasy Flight game that I own, I have found that the components are of the highest quality. In this case, thats not saying a whole lot given that the components boil down to 7 dice and (I believe) 14 cards. The dice themselves are some of the nicest dice I have ever used. Whatever polymer they used almost has a bone texture and appearance. The embossings are clear and the coloration of the markings is uniform and distinct. The dice have rounded corners and roll beautifully.

The clan/castle cards are 2 sided with the backs indicating the clan symbol/colour and one of the cards in the clan set also indicates the total value of castles and bonus for collecting all the cards in the clan set. The face of the card depicts individual castles, the military requirements to conquer the castle, depicted by symbols that are represented on the dice, the clan colour and castle point value. The artwork is simple and pleasant. The graphics are clear and therefore avoids confusion. Colour used in the printing is rich leaving the cards nicely attired.

OVERALL IMPRESSIONS

The theming of this game is almost irrelevant. While I do appreciate what the symbols represent regarding military requirements to conquer the various castles, I doubt that many people will appreciate this or even care. I do however enjoy this game. When played in the context of a light easily accessible filler game, it succeeds. There is some player interaction but that too can be avoided and can feel a little like a dice rolling competition at times.

Overall, I do enjoy this game when played as a filler or introduction game before more substantial games can be tabled. I would recommend this game to parents of preteen children or for gamers that can enjoy very light dice games.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
26 out of 27 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Legend of the Five Rings Fan
Crane Clan - Legend of the Five Rings
Smash Up Fan
Go to the Dungeons & Dragons: Dice Masters Battle for Faerûn page
9
25 of 25 gamers thought this was helpful
Ragu {Avid Gamer} Mar 20th, 2015
“Great Standalone Dice Masters Game”

Dice Masters seemed to find just the right niche for todays gamers: Price point low enough not to deter people not fond of blind buy packaging, enough “deck” construction to keep the power gamers searching for optimal builds, and access to intellectual properties that came with a pre-established fan base. It’s not hard to see then why the game has become SO popular in such a short window of time.

Last year when Avengers vs X-Men Dice Masters released the demand was so high that people were unable to find Starters for sale at retail for several months. Later the Uncanny X-Men expansion released and while popular there has been a group of people that passed on it because they missed out on AvX. When Yu-Gi-Oh Dice Masters came out last month it was the first non-Marvel set, but again there were people that passed due to not being fans of the property. So for anyone that has been interested in Dice Masters but passed so far, Dungeons and Dragons Dice Masters may be what you’ve been waiting for.

COMPATIBILITY:
D&DDM can be played with any other DM game, albeit with some term swapping. Whether they play well together remains to be seen. There are several new mechanics that will not interact with previous releases, which is to be expected. In addition there are several subfactions introduced for the Adventurer characters that have not received any support or drawbacks.

COMPONENTS:
The dice supplied with D&DDD are superior to previous releases as far as manufacturing and quality control go. Although there are a handful of dice with poor color combinations the dice overall are both pleasant to look at and better made. The cards look great, but suffer from the same packaging issues that plagued earlier sets (i.e. the curved cards, cards crimped/ cut in the seal of the booster, etc.)

PLAYABILITY:
As a standalone the game plays great. the new equipment and non-basic action cards are strong enough to warrant running them in place of random character 7-8. There is a lot of internal interaction, with the Experience and Alignment mechanics being the most overt examples. There is not as much viable ramp, so the games also tend to be slower than the average AXM/ UXM games.

All in all I was not disappointed in this iteration of Dice Masters and look forward to seeing if they produce any dedicated expansions to D&D DM.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
25 out of 25 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile