Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
3
Pick a Favorite LGS
Go to the Thunderstone Quest page
9
Pentegarn {Avid Gamer} Jun 23rd, 2019
“New and improved”

The third iteration of Thunderstone brings it into the echelon of deck builder plus games like Trains, Tyrants of the Underdark, Clank!, or A Few Acres of Snow.

Gameplay/Replay

Much like previous editions, Thunderstone Quest starts you with a modest deck of starter cards which you use to purchase in the village or visit the dungeon, through visits to the village you purchase cards to improve your deck in order to defeat stronger dungeon denizens. Quest improves on this concept in several ways.

For starters, you now have several village actions that you can take when visiting the village. The choice you make decides what your purchase includes, many choices will allow you to buy a card with an extra action, such as promoting a hero card, getting an item, or healing. That’s right, in this version, you have a health track, and said track will affect how many cards you draw at the start of your turn so keeping that health up is important.

In addition, the dungeon now is a board where the strongest monsters are in the deepest part while weaker monsters are closer to the surface. Light is still a factor, but it how much light you need can be wildly varied depending on the room tile the monster is on. There is also a new giant rat persistent monster at the entrance you can kill for a free purchase at the village. Things get dangerous when enough keys come out and the rat gets replaced by the big bad of the game. That last turn everyone gets additional cards in their draw for a final crack at the big boss. Most pints win

The Bad

Well for one thing this game weighs a lot, not game difficulty weight, I mean I can state its weight in stone. You will gain musculature when carrying it from the shelf to the table. Also the randomizer factor is still a problem as odd mixes can cause messy results, but playing them in adventure pack form is a decent fix as the packs are balanced for the adventure they are trying to give. Also it is hefty on the wallet especially if you want the adventure packs as well

In Conclusion

I for one think this is the best version of Thunderstone yet, and good news, it is as of this writing still available in deluxe form, though the magic of a Kickstarter expansion. That said it is NOT cheap (as mentioned earlier) though it is probably now my favorite deck builder and I think the cost worth it.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
1 out of 1 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Pick a Favorite LGS
Go to the New Frontiers page
9
Pentegarn {Avid Gamer} Jun 22nd, 2019
“Race for the Puerto Rico!”

The newest game out of the Race for the Galaxy universe is a Puerto Rico-esque version, and the results are quite fun

Gameplay/Replay

Taking a page from the role selection that made Puerto Rico and San Juan the games that they are, New Frontiers presents yet a third way to experience the Race for the Galaxy concept. Each round consists of a player selecting one of several actions that do things that all players participate in, but you get a special benefit for choosing such as

-Explore: pull 7 planets out of the bag, each player in turn order starting with the leader picks an unsettled planet and places it on their planet board, the leader gets to choose a second world from leftovers.}

-Settle: Settle a planet on your board through settler meeples paying credits or using military as appropriate, otherwise take 2 settlers, Leader gets a free settler. Planets are worth VP

-Discover: Purchase a tech, leader gets a 1 credit discount Tech is worth VP

-Produce: produce a good on all non windfall production worlds, leader gets to produce one good on an empty windfall world

-Trade/consume: May sell one good, man then use each consume action you have. Leader gets 1 vp

-Leader Get 2 credits

-Move to front of turn order

-(Optional) Introduce an endgame goal and gain 1 credit which everyone gets VP from doing

After all players have chosen different roles and everyone carried them out, the roles reset and it all starts again. 4 things can trigger endgame; Running out of VP tokens, having 7 or more settled planets, having 11 or more discovery tile spaces on your board covered, or the settler meeple pool having less than 5 meeples in it. Most VP wins, credits left break ties

The Bad

Credit crisis is a fairly easy trap to fall into, I have played 3 times so far and seen it happen twice. Also the military path is a difficult path to pull off in this game

In Conclusion

All that said, I recommend this one quite highly and this might be my favorite 2019 game so far. With the random techs and multiple starter player boards each game is different. A fun time.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
3 out of 3 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
Go to the Castle Panic page
 
mimi Jun 20th, 2019
“Nice fun”

It was everytime fun to play the Castle Panic. I played with my family and everyone was happy to play. It is for 1-6 players. Simplicity of the rules of this game does not announce the climate that perfectly holds this game. The game is nice and very solidly made, and the fantasy maniac will be in heaven playing this game. The game is really fast, dynamic (in two people the whole party lasted no more than 20 minutes), very light and pleasant.

Components: game board, plastic stands, castle cards, monster tokens, walls and towers.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
2 out of 3 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Getaway Driver page
9
Draxonfly {Avid Gamer} Jun 10th, 2019
“Fast and fun !! ”

An excellent little 2 player game. Play it fast and have fun, don’t over analyse it or over think it, it is a light-hearted game that easy to get into.

The rules are simple, sometimes they feel a little to simple I felt we get into it to easy and we must be doing something wrong, but we were not, the game really is that simple to play.
Place tiles, play cards do what each symbol says.

Its great that both sides (the police and the getaway car) play differently and have a different feel.

Really enjoyed playing it, fantastic 2 player game (with 2 boxes you can play a 4 player version) the included solo rules are a welcome treat too.

The components are great, neat little box with all the room for all the bits, The art is fantastic.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 4 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Witch of Salem page
8
Draxonfly {Avid Gamer} Jun 2nd, 2019
“Fun to play, Tough to beat.”

A great cooperative game that is set in the Cthulhu universe.
Played it with 2 players and also have played it a couple of times solo (controlling multiple characters on my own) was great fun but I think it would really shine with 3 plus players.

We have lost more games than won, typical of a game set in this universe, but we have had fun each time we play it.

The bits are nice and all work well, it even comes with a ‘draw’ bag and it does not take up to much table space (it fits easy on a standard kitchen table, with room to spare)

All in all a fun ‘cheaper’ easier to learn ‘old ones’ board game that wants to be your friend but secretly hates you and laughs when you fail.. seriously, I swear I can hear the actual board laughing and mocking my behind my back.. lol

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
3 out of 3 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the XCOM: The Board Game page
7
Draxonfly {Avid Gamer} Jun 2nd, 2019
“Great, but wish yiu didn't need an app”

I like the xcom universe. The game is fun, but i don’t play it often because it needs a didgital app.
I wish they bring out a deck of cards or something to replace the need for the app.

But the bits are great, you do get that x-com felling, and it is a great solo game too.
But yeah, whish we didn’t need the app, it would get played a lot more.

I have made myown ‘cards’ to try and remove the app. It kinda works, needs some more work though.

If you like the xcom computer game andbooks, you should get a kick out of this game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
3 out of 4 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
6
Tasty Minstrel Games Fan
AEG fan
Mage Wars fan
Go to the Sagrada page
9
8 of 9 gamers thought this was helpful
B. Chereaux {Avid Gamer} May 18th, 2019
“Beautiful Dice Drafting”

This is fast becoming the favorite game in our house. My wife will never turn down a game of Sagrada and after one play, it is not hard to see why. This game is easy to learn, quick to play, and downright beautiful to look at.

The Good:

The components are well made and the translucent, colored dice are awesome. After a few rounds, this one looks gorgeous on the table and you can really see the theme coming through.
The puzzle aspect of the game is engaging and challenging without being cluttered by unnecessary rules.
A full playthrough takes only 30 minutes, so it shouldn’t be hard to keep even the least initiated board gamer interested.

The Not-So-Good:

The cardstock used on the cards feels a little flimsy. This especially bothers me about the window pattern cards since they will be manipulated in and out of frames every time we play
The rules for scoring at the end of the game needed explanations of EACH rule. The rulebook only provided examples of a few, and I have to admit we played a few games wrong and did some puzzle solving after to figure out how to score.

Overall:
This game definitely lives up to the hype, and is one that will be on our shelves for years to come. It plays well as a filler for two or three people in between longer Ameritrash games, or as a main course for up to six players with an optional expansion. I am very happy with the amount of game I got for only 40 bucks!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
8 out of 9 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the The Lord of the Rings: Journeys in Middle-earth page
9
7 of 9 gamers thought this was helpful
brigten {Avid Gamer} Apr 27th, 2019
“Finally a really good game for solo fro FFG”

I own several FFG games, some with solo options. I believe this is one of the best games in a long time. A lot of content i the core set makes the steep price worth it. The building of decks works great and is not cumbersome. Large impact on the game with little fiddling.

The scenarios drives through a coherent story with lot of options for side missions.

Played it solo, but this will also work superb for group gaming.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
7 out of 9 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
9
Gamer - Level 7
BoardGaming.com Beta 1.0 Tester
Petroglyph
Explorer - Level 3
Go to the Wildlands: The Unquiet Dead page
 
Marvin K. {Avid Gamer} Apr 10th, 2019
“New faction vs new obstacle”

The Unquiet Dead is the first expansion for the Martin Wallace game Wildlands. You can play this as an optional 5th faction although it is still limited to being a 4 player game. The differences on this faction are minor but should only be added to the game after the base game has been played a few times. The first difference is that the undead team has 6 characters instead of 5 like the other teams. Additionally, they only have 2 symbols for the team members. This is why I recommend some experience with the game concepts before adding this team. The 2 symbols are a skull and a hand rising out of the ground. To help reduce confusion in early plays of the game I painted an S and an H on the appropriate figure bases so a player can easily distinguish who can play which cards during the game. The other optional use for this set is as a game obstacle for all players to use. I have only played this expansion a couple of times so far and only as an optional team but plan to try it out as an obstacle in the near future. So far I do like it and plan to keep it incorporated in the game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 4 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
9
Gamer - Level 7
BoardGaming.com Beta 1.0 Tester
Petroglyph
Explorer - Level 3
Go to the Koi page
 
7 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Marvin K. {Avid Gamer} Mar 31st, 2019
“Great bits ”

I enjoy this game very much. The components alone have made me start watching for a used copy of the game so I can have them for use in other games. The game lasts 7 rounds highest score at the end of the 7th round(day) wins the game. Each player is a koi(goldfish) swimming in a large pond. You start with a hand of cards to which you add 3 cards from a common deck. Some of these cards will allow you to move your koi. Other cards allow you to add rocks, cherry blossoms, frogs and lily pads to the pond.The movement cards gave symbols to tell you how to move your koi. If the symbols are in black ink they are mandatory and when you play them you must do the moves. Some are in blue ink and are optional. The symbols are in a vertical column and are read from the bottom of the card upwards. On your turn you can play as many of your cards as you want in any order you choose but may only keep 5 cards in your hand for future play but in general this will not be a problem. There is a deck of weather cards that you will shuffle separately and draw six from laying these out above the board face down before the game starts. Starting with the 2nd round(day) you will reveal a card that will have a game effect for that round. During the game your koi will eat dragonflies and frogs to score points by landing on the space where those components are. If, at the start of a player’s turn there are no dragonflies place more flies on empty lilypads. Most points at end wins the game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
7 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile