Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
5
North Star Games fan
Go to the NMBR 9 page
 
5 of 5 gamers thought this was helpful
Tiana901 {Family Gamer} Oct 18th, 2017
“Fun filler game with Numbers”

This is a game for one to four players. The game has 80 number tiles, 0 to 9, with four of each number. There are also 20 number cards, with 2 of each number. Each player builds their own grid of numbers, and scores are determined by the number on the tile and the height (level) of the number. All the numbers placed on the table, are considered level 0 and score 0 points. The next level up is level 1, so all numbers are multiplied by 1 for the score of that tile. I.e., on level one, placing the 8 tile would score 8×1 or 8 points. The next level is level 2, where the tile 8 would score 8×2 or 16 points, etc. Each number tile has a unique shape, and grids printed on the tile. Tiles placed on the same level must line up with at least one of the grids on another tile. When a tile is placed on top of other tiles, there must be another grid underneath each grid of the tile, meaning it can’t hang over any air. Each tile must be on top of at least two other number tiles. So, for example, you can’t just put an 8 tile atop another 8.

After shuffling the cards, turn one card over at a time and place the corresponding tile, anywhere you like, as long as you follow the placement rules above.
What I like about the game is that the rules are very easy to grasp, and the game is easy to learn. The shuffling of the cards adds variety to the game and there is some planning to try and earn the most points for your placement. Since there are only two of each number in the deck, during play, you will have an idea of which numbers remain. I also like that there is so little set up, you can really just shuffle the cards and be ready to play in a minute or two. The number tiles are a nice weight and colorful. I enjoyed the puzzle aspect of the game; trying to fit the pieces together in the most efficient way to earn points. Each level becomes more challenging, because it is difficult to build lower levels without any gaps that prevent higher levels.

However, there is very little player interaction, since all players build their own grid. I also kept jostling my numbers on the table and trying to restack them correctly. You may need a play mat to add a little friction.

This could be a nice filler game, it takes about 10-15 minutes to play. If you purchased several sets, more than four players could play at the same time. The solitaire option could interest some players, who might want to see if they can beat their highest score.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
5 out of 5 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Abyss page
5
0 of 5 gamers thought this was helpful
Julio Parada MX {Avid Gamer} Oct 18th, 2017
“Nice game for a sunday night”

This game is easy to lear, a its simply to play.
The bcg are not my speciallity but Abyss was a good experiencie for me. I dont know if I sure to buy this game because my friends and me like the board and miniature games. Abyss is a good choice if you like the Building Card games, esasy to lear, quick to play.
This game remindme games like, Magic The Gathering, Mitos y Leyendas, etc.
The art of the cards is very good.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
0 out of 5 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Carcassonne page
10
1 of 6 gamers thought this was helpful
Julio Parada MX {Avid Gamer} Oct 17th, 2017
“the classic game for the family”

This game is a classic in my family.
its easy, quickly and funny.
The expansions are easy and is a cheap game, so the kids can loose some cards and you can buy it for a low price.
This game must be played for every one. Was of my first experiences with the board games, and never disapoints.
plus is a great game to play with firends and with the co-workers. Its simply one of the best games ever.

regards

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
1 out of 6 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Fury of Dracula page
10
1 of 5 gamers thought this was helpful
Julio Parada MX {Avid Gamer} Oct 17th, 2017
“One of my favorites”

was the year 2003 when I meet this game. I was livin in Toronto, Canada and I found it in a garage sale. The game was incomplete, dusty and the map cracked. but the miniatures was perfect.
In that time I tried to play with som friends. I use the manual to complete the missign parts.
After 12 years (2015) I found the second edition in my friend`s Store SANCTUARIUM, in Aguascalientes. The price was high, but ith worths.
Now is one of my favories, actually we play this game once at month.

regards

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
1 out of 5 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Myth page
8
Julio Parada MX {Avid Gamer} Oct 17th, 2017
“Great game to Customize.”

This game is kinf of complicated, but once you get a way to play its easy to improve and customize some stories.
I bought this game 3 years ago, and after 2 years closed my friends and I began to play.
At the begining was complicated, but the firs rule in this game is “adapt the game to your rules”, so we decide to make this game like a dungeon. Sometimes we try to play as we were playing Diablo.

I start to paint the miniatures, and the plastic detail is awesome.

regards

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
1 out of 3 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Cards Against Humanity page
4
Claire {Avid Gamer} Oct 16th, 2017
“Play once or twice, but don't buy!!”

Gameplay Gist: People take turns being ‘the judge’, who reads out a prompt from a black card. Everyone else plays a white card from their hand in response to the prompt. Then the judge shuffles the white cards, reads them aloud and picks his/her favorite, and the person who played that white card wins the round (and receives the black card). After a predetermined number of rounds, the person with most black cards wins. However, the real point of the game is the shock value, as all the white cards have crude/shocking/random phrases on them. For example, for the black card “What are my parents hiding from me?”, someone might play “Harry Potter erotica”, then people laugh.

Ok, but is it good? The first time I played this, I laughed so hard I cried. The second time was almost as fun, but by the third time (when I’d seen most of the cards) I was so so bored. Now, whenever it’s brought out at a party I make some excuse to leave.

Some people seem to like it beyond the first one or two times, and there are some pros that make it a good party game:
– It’s super easy to explain & learn
– You can miss a turn or two and still jump back in, or people can join after 1 or 2 rounds
– You can make the game as long or as short as you like
– It can be fun to try and guess what cards the judge of that round will like most

But even with all that, I do think it gets stale rather quickly and there are many other good party games out there! My suggestion would be to play it once at a board games cafe (towards the end of the night when people have had a few) and then just leave it there.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
3 out of 4 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
Go to the Master of Wills page
10
1 of 5 gamers thought this was helpful
TH3BLACKKNIGHT3 Oct 11th, 2017
“Strategy”

I love the Strategy, it reminds me of chess when I plan moves ahead. Fairly easy to learn, there’s a bit to learn at first but once you understand the mechanics it becomes quite simple. Obviously the board is easy to setup. The game comes with two factions, with more coming, and each faction can create two decks. Also, online they have a deck builder and deck suggestions to use until you learn which cards compliment each other.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
1 out of 5 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Gamer - Level 4
Knight
Go to the Star Trek: Fleet Captains page
 
5 of 5 gamers thought this was helpful
Gaxx {Avid Gamer} Sep 27th, 2017
“Fun game but too random”

I will start off by saying that I really enjoyed playing this game. I’ve only ever played the three player variant with Romulans and Dominion included rather than the base game in its pure form but everything I have to say should hold true.

Firstly – the game has great atmosphere and seems to replicate the feel of the setting very well indeed. The factions all seem unique and the game makes every effort to recreate the feel of them with unique ships, command cards, quest balances etc.

It plays fairly fast although is slowed down by having to pick carefully over the rules which are fairly unclear in a number of places. It is also a great deal of fun with there never being a point where anyone in the games we played felt like a hopeless underdog or a run-away victor.

The issue is related to that last benefit. A lot of that variation in being able to rise of fall is due to the randomness of the game. Encounters, in particular, vary pretty much between more or less randomly advancing you towards victory or completely crippling a ship. The quest cards have a similar problem in that some of them seem night on impossible to complete and others are likely to be already complete at the point you gain them.

This high degree of random chance does leave you with a feeling that your tactical and strategic decisions are somewhat diminished. On the other hand it offers sufficient variability that it makes each game feel significantly different to the last.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
5 out of 5 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Nemo's War 2nd edition page
9
4 of 8 gamers thought this was helpful
KrakenTdG {Avid Gamer} Sep 26th, 2017
“What a game!”

I’ve never ever experienced a game which is so thematic. NW is a true masterwork and I’m so happy I pledged it on Kickstarter. I don’t care if and when I lose: it just means experience and tactics learning for next games. Playing a game to NW is always exciting.
You’ll roll dice betting on your own resources, event cards will influence your journey, you’ll sink ships ramming into them. Sometimes, pure misfortune (a dice roll, an event card) will make you fail your mission: this could be frustrating but – come on! – every imperialist country will be hunting your Nautilus!
To me, the only flaws are the plastic inserts, which can be just thrown away and the miniature, which deserved to be produced in metal.
Oh, what a game!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 8 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Copper Supporter
Go to the Pandemic page
9
4 of 11 gamers thought this was helpful
CuddyGaymer77 {Avid Gamer} Sep 25th, 2017
“A Race to Save the World!”

Pandemic is a fast-paced, co-op game that let’s you fight to save the world from being ravaged by four diseases.This game is so much fun to play!

Each character has unique abilities that will help you cure and eradicate each disease. But be smart in your choices! Any moment you could draw an epidemic card and the diseases spread, making it even more difficult to cure them.

This was definitely a favorite with my friends when I brought it to the gaming table. For an added bit of atmosphere, we played it with Contagion playing on the TV!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 11 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile