Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
5
USA
Go to the Sherlock page
6
6 of 6 gamers thought this was helpful
David Ruley {Family Gamer} Jul 6th, 2015
“A Simple Memory Game”

Memory is a game that we some people are good at, but others are not. If you are good at it, you will like this game. If you are not, this may provide a simpler version that adds some different ideas to make it more interesting.

Components

These are the thickest cards of any game I have ever seen. They were made with children in mind and my children have not yet been able to destroy them. Each card has a picture of a simple object on it and a number with an arrow either pointing right or left.

Game Play

All the cards get stacked in the middle of the table and eight cards are placed face down around the stack in a circle. The first player names one of the cards and turns it over. If they are correct, they count the number of cards indicated on the first card in the direction the arrow is pointing and guess that card. This happens until you either miss or return to a card that they have already flipped over that turn. Returning to a card means the player gets that card and a new card is put in its place. All cards are flipped back over and it is the next players turn. The game continues until someone has a predetermined number of cards collected.

Thoughts

A good game to play with the kids, but not a gamers game by any stretch. Definitely less to keep track of than ordinary Memory, but the numbers and the direction teach math and spacial skills as well. Recommended for those looking for a new twist on a game that all children should play.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
6 out of 6 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
USA
Go to the Ra page
9
6 of 6 gamers thought this was helpful
David Ruley {Family Gamer} Jul 6th, 2015
“A Great, Often Forgotten Game”

This game was not even on my radar until I found it on a thrift store shelf for $2. When I saw it was by Reiner Knizia, I knew I had to get it. Now that I own it and have played it many times, I know that it has become one of my favorite games to play and should have been on my wish list.

The concept is very simple. Draw tiles from a bag and place them on the board. Each tile has different point values based on the accumulation of tiles. Some tiles you need to have more than your opponents. Some you need other tiles to activate them. Others you need to collect sets or many of the same to get points. The auction is determined by the use of the “Ra” token. A person can either call “Ra” to start an auction or they can wait until a Ra tile is drawn. The person who drew or calls Ra is the last to bid and the winner gets all the tiles on the board.

The timer for each round is the Ra tiles and this is where the game really shines. If you draw enough Ra tiles, the round ends and points are counted. Many times this can happen quickly and you may get no tiles at all. Timing is everything and this is what make this game great.

The other things is knowing the value of the tiles. Some are more valuable than others, but the value changes based on the situation and the other tiles that player has. You have to think about everything and those who read the game well will win consistently.

Like most Knizia game, the theme has nothing to do with the game so some may consider it to be dry. It also is an old game so many will overlook it for other newer, shinier games. For me though, this is a definite winner and a game that everyone should try. It am always surprised by how much fun I have playing and how satisfying it is outwit my opponents.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
6 out of 6 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Gamer - Level 1
Go to the Bang! The Dice Game page
9
3 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Zyg {Avid Gamer} Jul 6th, 2015
“Very fun Party game”

While i’m not a huge fan of bluffing / lying games (Coup for example) Bang the dice game is one of my favorites party game that goes well with gamers and casual gamers alike ! Rules are very simple, games don’t take more than 15 minutes but with a good crowd you’ll be craving to play again.

Only minor downside is that you need at least 5 people for it to make sense. (Doesn’t work well with 4 imho)

One of my best “Bang for your buck” (Pun intended) games !

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
3 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
8
Professional Reviewer
BoardGaming.com Beta 1.0 Tester
Silver Supporter
Sentinels of the Multiverse fan
Go to the King of New York page
8
8 of 8 gamers thought this was helpful
Jay Atkinson {Family Gamer} Jul 5th, 2015
“Take a monster bite out of the big apple with this fun game!”

Overview
King of New York is the sequel to the popular King of Tokyo (KoT) game that brings some refreshing changes without spoiling the fun. The Big Apple is under attack from a whole new slew of monsters. Everybody was “kaiju” fighting…it was so exciting!

Pros
More thematic
More interesting decisions
Lots of conflict, less “turtling”

Cons
A little less accessible than KoT
KoT: Power up expansion not compatible with KoNY

Gameplay

For those who have played King of Tokyo, the gameplay will be very familiar. You roll six dice up to three times for the results you want much like Yahtzee. You’ll still find energy for purchasing cards, hearts for healing, and claws for attacking. There are few tweaks such as your monsters staying in boroughs of New York which is not always safe. The main borough to score points is Manhattan, and it has different scoring stages the longer you stay in it. The biggest difference is that there are no numbers on the dice, but those have been replaced with “stars”. If you role enough stars, you get the “superstar” card which nets you more points when rolling stars. This card can be taken from you if someone else rolls the right amount of starts. There are also “building” icons on the dice which allow you to destroy buildings in boroughs for bonus health, points, or energy. Those building that are destroyed turn into military vehicles which act like the humans fighting back. They do fight back when you roll skulls, and depending on how many skulls you roll, the attacks could potentially not just affect you but every monster in New York. Those same military vehicles can be destroyed by the building icons on the dice as well.

Now, all these changes leads to a lot more damage flying around the city, so there will be a lot less camping outside the main area to heal up. This is particularly true once a few military vehicles are in the area. Very few games will end in someone winning by the normal 20 victory points. Most likely, the surviving monster will be the winner.

Conclusion

Given this, I think I like King of New York much better than it’s big brother, King of Tokyo. I find the decisions in the game more interesting. Decisions like should I attack this building to get a benefit, knowing that military vehicles will show up or should I attempt roll more skulls so that I can damage everyone’s monster as well as my own hoping to take someone out. That’s just to name a couple. I like the addition of being able to destroy buildings and have military fight back. This feels more thematic and seemed lacking in King of Tokyo. The cards seem a lot more interesting, and some of them work really well together if you can get them to combine. There is still a lot of luck, because there is dice and cards. However, there are many cards if they come up and you can purchase them that help mitigate the luck of the dice. You can use your monsters from KoT, but you will not be able to use the Power Up expansion cards with the game, since the dice have changed. Also, since there is a lot more damage, there is less people turtling to heal up, and it makes the game go faster.

If you like King of Tokyo, you should really give this one a shot. I think it might be a better version in my book. However, if you don’t like KoT, I doubt there is much more for you to like unless you were wanting a more “in your face” experience with better decisions. Also, if you like KoT, but still struggle with the conflict and player elimination some, then KoNY is probably not for you.

It’s a good game and fun to play.

Gamer Recommendations

Family GamerMAYBE – I don’t see any problems with kids playing if they’re okay with direct conflict and player elimination
Social Gamer MAYBE – If your idea of socializing is trash talking with your buddies.
Casual GamerMAYBE – a few more rules, but still not heavy
Strategy GamerNO – not much long term strategy
Avid Gamer YES – Lots of fun
Power GamerNO – Not a lot of depth.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
8 out of 8 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Norway
BoardGaming.com Beta 2.0 Tester
Copper Supporter
Go to the Hive: Carbon page
10
8 of 8 gamers thought this was helpful
Twonky {Avid Gamer} Jul 5th, 2015
“Abstraction with a theme”

Although this review is written for Hive: Carbon it applies to Hive as well as these games are identical except for their appearance.

So let’s talk about that first; appearance. Hive: Carbon is a beautiful game in it’s elegant simplicity. This game consists of 26 bakelite pieces in black and white with an image of an insect carved into each one. These pieces are quite heavy for their size but they are durable. You probably couldn’t break them if you tried. The durability of the pieces also makes this a perfect travel game since you can play this anywhere in any condition and on any surface since there is no board, the game pieces create the board as you play. Handily enough the game also comes with a nice textile zipper bag for storage when you travel with the game.

But enough about how it looks, let’s get to how it plays. As a few have stated in their reviews here it is reminicent of chess. Like chess you have pieces that move in their own distinct way and you move one piece on your turn and then pass to the opponent just like chess. The game is also won by capturing your opponents king piece or Queen Bee as it is called in Hive.

This however is where the similarities end. In Hive you begin the game with an empty board. One player then places any one of his pieces on the board. This is the beginning of the hive, as the game board is called, and all pieces has to be connected to the hive at all times. This continues until you place your Queen Bee on the board which can be no later then the 4th piece you place. When the Queen has been placed you are then free to move your pieces in the manner described in the rules. Some pieces move far, some move short, some can climb onto and pin other pieces or jump to the end of a straight line. In your turn you can either move a piece, if you have placed your queen on the board, or place a new piece.
There is also no way of eliminating your opponents pieces but they can be hindered from moving in varying ways.
The object then is to completely surround your opponents Queen and therby immediately win the game.

So you can see the diffrences from chess are quite big. Pieces enter during the game rather than leave during the game. There is no fixed board but an ever changing playing field as the pices move about. You select the pieces you wish to use as you play. You can even finish the game without ever having placed some of your pieces. This brings a lot of variety to the game and think that is quite nice to see in an abstract.

This is in my oppinion makes Hive a very good game for those who like abstract games such as Chess or Go. It is very easy to learn, you just have to remember how each piece can move and there are very few exeptions to the rules. But it is a deep game like other abstracts and you can probably study it for many years to come if you so wish. The box states a playing time of 20 minutes and in my experience that seem to be true. Some games may take 10 minutes and some may take 30 minutes. This all depends on the players skill level ofcourse. I would recomend this to almost all kinds of gamers, especially if you like abstract 2 player games that play fairly qiuickly and are perfect to travel with.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
8 out of 8 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
US Army Service
I play green
Go to the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Skull & Shackles (Base Set) page
4
11 of 13 gamers thought this was helpful
DeadInkPen {Avid Gamer} Jul 5th, 2015
“Fun at first then become extremely boring.”

Overview
Pathfinder ACG Skull and Shackles is the second entry in their Adventure card game series. The number of players goes from One to Six, and is played over a series of “adventures” across several scenarios.

Components
Cards, a lot of them if you count in the expansion scenarios.
The insert is functional for the base set with out the expansion scenarios. You will most likely be making a new insert for it or buying one online or from a convention/store.
The quality of the cards is best put at mediocre.
The art is Good.
The Box is sturdy.

Gameplay
Setup is pretty easy as you follow what the location cards tell you to put there (IE: 4 Monsters, 3 Items, 2 Weapons, etc).

Each player begins play with a character of their choosing and a deck of 15 cards. This will change and grow some over the course of play.

Players “move” their character to a location, explore it, encounter the top card of that location deck. Play a card(s), roll some dice then add in some other numbers to get their result. Either you make it or you don’t.

Unfortunately PACG Skull and Shackles keeps up the tradition of its predecessor in being a really boring, arbitrary, formulaic, and repetitive game. The first couple of plays are good, but then you realize how the game is designed and realize its rather quite boring. This character min-maxes this, that one min-maxes that to be able to do this stuff. Play weapon, item, or spell and maybe a blessing to get more dice. You pick up and roll them and then add in modifier numbers. There is really no choices in this game. It is all random luck. If the dice are on fire you will do good, if not well then the opposite happens.

Pros
-Decent artwork
-Sturdy Box

Cons
-Extremely repetitive
-Lots of Downtime
-Breeds a lack of interest in what other players are doing on their turns

Thoughts/Conclusions
I know a lot of people seem to sing nothing but praises for this game. I may have the unpopular opinion on this, but the game is just boring after the first couple of games when you figure everything out. There is only luck in this game, no skill or thinking involved. Its just a flip and see what happens game. Which IMO is a bad design for a game now days, maybe a decade or two ago with would be great. If you want a dungeon crawl there is Decent, Imperial Assault, the D&D board games(all GM-less), Thunderstone Advanced is a way better card game choice, that give better experiences and have you interested in what other people are doing on their turn.

I found myself and the other players grabbing our phones to play other games, or else setting up side games and getting more involved in those then the Pathfinder Adventure Card game. There is no incentive to want to encounter monsters or obstacles other then you are forced to. I think Paizo needs to look at the Thunderstone Advance card game and see what they did right. That played way better.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
11 out of 13 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
Go to the Lanterns: The Harvest Festival page
 
4 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Heidi {Social Gamer} Jul 5th, 2015
“Great for adults and kids”

This is such a great game. I like matching the colors, I guess it satisfies my OCD ;) Also, there’s plenty of situations for playing strategically, either to increase your own points or just to destroy your opponents play. Kids and adults can play this together and still be at the same level, since kids can match colors easily and the game is random enough to not favor adults over children.

The rulebook is easy to read and understand. The first game is quickly set up and running. The setup description makes it easy to adapt the game to 2, 3 or 4 players.

First, I played it with my husband and it was great fun. At the second game we included my eight year old nephew who won big time (oh dear), but still plenty of fun. The game is fun both as a 2 player game and as a 3 player game. Can’t wait to try a 4 player game :)

The duration of a game is not very long, so you can easily play a couple of games without feeling exhausted.

All in all, a very nice manageable game. In short I would tag it with the following comments:
– Short duration
– Easy rules
– Strategy
– Also great for kids (8y+)

I would definitely recommend this game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
6
Norway
I play yellow
Asmodee fan
Count / Countess
Go to the Villainy page
2
10 of 10 gamers thought this was helpful
Takras {Avid Gamer} Jul 5th, 2015
“Players beware!”

So when I got this game I was really curious. The graphic design choices were quite awkward. The box itself is going for a super hero comic magazine and it sort of achieves its goal. The color choices are very dark and contrasty, which kind of distorts the art from coming out nicely. Add that to a box with low quality as expected from Mayfair, you get a pretty poor result.

Inside the box you’ll find dozens if not hundres of components which you have to punch out, and it takes quite a while to do so. You get a whole lot of useless counters with verbs on them, so that you can name your own villain. Oh yeah, you play as a super villain in this game, which is kind of nice. The first villain to defeat the cities superhero becomes the victor of the game. You can’t do it by yourself, however.

In order to win you need to start small, hire henchmen and work yourself up. You need money, so sometimes you just have to go to work. Even your henchmen can go to work. Each henchmen and yourself have three types of statistics: strength, charisma and dexterity – or something of the sorts. To keep track of the stats, you have some cardboard punch outs which functions as knobs that points at the right stat. This seems kind of smart at first, but it really doesn’t work well in the long run.

On your turn you can either do something yourself as the villain, or you can send a henchman to do it for you. When the action is done, you become tired and have to go to work in order to act again later. This is really clunky and seems very half arsed when looking at the whole picture. The mechanism is there to keep you from going berserk with actions, but the whole upkeep step and control of this just doesn’t work well. It feels very forced upon you and not a natural part of the game.

I could go on explaining all the different mechanisms, but they all come down to the same issue: it feels like a half baked game. There’s no polish on the surfaces and a lot of the game doesn’t flow well. You can initiate tons of fighting which easily could go to the strongest player each time. You draw random cards which also initiates fights a lot, and you have to pause the game to roll dice and check the winner. This happens all the time.

The theme is good and the humor is definitely there, but everything else is fiddly and doesn’t fit the games premise. Also, when facing the super hero after you have deleted the internet (and saved all the funny cat videos first), it’s easy to be knocked back to the stone age. The game lasts too long and before it’s done you probably just want it all to end anyway.

I cannot recommend this game. Fiddly, ugly and cheap components and it takes too long. It’s not easy to learn either, because the mechanisms doesn’t feel natural to the theme.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
10 out of 10 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
4
Cross Hares fan
Go to the Villainy page
8
6 of 9 gamers thought this was helpful
stryyp {Avid Gamer} Jul 5th, 2015
“Superheroes Beware!”

I tried this game out at the games workshop for the dealers a while back. It was a very fun game.
The game is where you play a minor villain who wishes to become a well known super villain that can take on the Superhero of the city.
Everyone gets a dial to represent you villain’s level of abilities. There are three abilities that help you perform tasks within the game.
The first fun thing is to name your villain. You can use the name given on the card or use the many words on small tiles to help create a name. The last option is to just come up with a name on your own. This can be funny and fun to create.
Next you take on cards to play the game. The cards can have secret identity to work and earn money to help purchase items for you criminal activities. You can also take on criminal activities such as putting kittens in trees or robbing banks. The putting kittens in trees is a funny action, but some how all those kittens get in trees for the hero to rescue.
You complete levels of actions to prepare yourself for the fight against the superhero. This can be easy if you have the right skill levels and weapons, but there some challenges that can be defeated. If you fail you can attack the superhero again with an added bonus.
When a villain defeats the superhero, the game is over.
This is a different type of game which can let players get the badness out of there system when other games frustrate them.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
6 out of 9 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Shadow Elves - Summoner Wars
Go to the Summoner Wars: Alliances page
9
5 of 9 gamers thought this was helpful
Shrike {Avid Gamer} Jul 3rd, 2015
“Summoner Wars gets deep”

After playing 10 or so games with the Alliances factions, I was surprised at the depth that it adds to the respective groups. All of the new factions can benefit from the original faction decks and their cards fit well in many of those decks. Also, it allows for new ideas to be brought to the deck building side of Summoner Wars. I have always been impressed by the simplicity of Summoner Wars, it is easy to teach, but with the new dual-factions, I have to really think about the cards that my opponent may be playing.

The Alliances set also adds many new mechanics, which add some life into this game. Examples include: the new Event Abilities for the Sand Cloaks, Runes for the Tundra Guild, and managing the Prison pile for the Cave Filth.

This set is a must buy for any fan of Summoner Wars, but also is a great way to enter into the game. The decks may be more complex, but are still accessible to any player. I have taught this game with starter sets, the Master Set, and the Alliances set to players of all ages. These decks are more complex than the originals, but still very accessible to any player that picks them up.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
5 out of 9 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile