Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
1
Go to the The Castles of Burgundy page
8
swadyko Mar 23rd, 2017
“Great little tile laying game”

fun game. interactive with the ability to add some variety with both a base and optional player boards and this also provides great replay value. my first Feld game and we really enjoy it. The components are not as high quality as we see out there today but the aren’t terrible either. the color choices are a little odd and very bland. the card board is on the thin side but I have nothing warped.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
0 out of 1 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Go to the Among the Stars page
9
8 of 9 gamers thought this was helpful
Steve {Avid Gamer} Mar 17th, 2017
“Excellent Game!”

This is an excellent game, great for anyone. Lots of strategic depth, deciding when you will turn cards in for money, which you will have to do! There are lots of different options and paths to victory. Plenty of races and objectives give endless replay on a board you make yourself. Plenty of available expansions mean there are countless directions to go in. You can focus on one area to get massive points in one area, or spread things out, to get some points in lots of different areas. The only downside, as with any tile laying game, is lots of space is needed for this game. My station was getting very close to encroaching on my neighbor’s by the last round. Also, while the drafting mechanism means that someone can mess with you by taking a card that would benefit you, there is little interaction. Maybe the expansions bring in some, but with the cards I played with, we were three players building our own stations hoping to come out with the most points at the end of the game.

Overall, I would highly recommend this game for anyone. As my only tile laying game up to this point that I can recall are Carcassonne and Isle of Skye, this is a nice next level version, with it mattering even more where in your setup each tile goes, with the interactions between tiles, even 2 spaces away, matter with regards to how many points they will score you, weather its immediate or at the end of the game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
8 out of 9 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
I'm a Real Person
Go to the Blood Rage page
10
3 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
damianponte {Avid Gamer} Mar 17th, 2017
“So much... ¡ FUN !”

Components: Ok, we all know the miniatures in this game are SUPERB. I like the cards being small and manageable. The tokens are kind of meh, they are very small and I’m always affraid someone will lose one of them. But they fulfill their purpose.
Gameplay: Blood Rage SHINES here too. I really like the draft mechanic at the beginning of each round. For me, It’s like 2 games in one. Draft first, action, fight and blood then. Another think I like is that you never know who’s gonna win until the end. For example, I had a game where a friend (M) and I ended the first age with 3 glory and another friend (N) had 25. I was having a lot of fun, but thought I had no chance to win. At the end of the game, N reached 68 glory, I reached 72 and M had 78 !! I LOVED that, and also loved that each one of us used a different strategy. N focused on pillaging, M on winning battles and I on losing them !
You know you like a game when you are thinking when are you going to play it again while you are still playing it!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
3 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
I'm a Real Person
Go to the Fury of Dracula page
10
2 of 6 gamers thought this was helpful
damianponte {Avid Gamer} Mar 17th, 2017
“Instant Classic”

This is my first boardgame, I’ve played it 5 times with 4 or 5 players. It’s a long game (2-3.5 hours) but it doesn’t get boring. It’s full of tension the whole time, especially if you’re Dracula. It’s so satisfying to outplay the 4 hunters. But being a hunter is fun too, trying to get that event that will help you find Dracula, or some good items so you can kill him in a fight. My friends and I love this game and we wanna keep playing it. We like to change who Dracula is each game, so we have had VERY different games: the Pirate Dracula, The Fighting Dracula, the Running Dracula, etc.
Also, the map is gorgeous and the overall quality of the components is quite good.
Totally recommend this game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
2 out of 6 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
8
Professional Reviewer
Canada
I play black
Silver Supporter
Go to the Viceroy page
6
9 of 10 gamers thought this was helpful
Artem Safarov {Avid Gamer} Mar 11th, 2017
“Pyramid shaped-point salad – pleasant but not filling.”

Concepts as simple as pattern building and colour-matching appear in games frequently. Viceroy, a strategic game of creating a conceptual “pyramid of power” in a fantasy world aces these in a very satisfying way. In the process, however, it kind of forgets what games are meant to be and the end result limps, rather than soars over the finish line. How come? Put on your best puffy shirt and let’s find out!

How it works:
The players play the role of powerful nobles competing for influence in a very loosely-defined fantasy world. They do so by recruiting different characters from an eclectic mix and adding these to their “pyramids of power” – patterns assigning relative importance their hirelings get in the ambitious organization that you are building. Kind of like a fantasy org chart (how exciting is that? Org chart!).

You need to pay for these by gems, the game’s currency, that come in four different colours. The higher on your pyramid you want to place a hireling the more it costs.

Each character card provides a reward based on which level you build it on. The rewards are things like magic, technology or straight victory points. At the end of the game these contribute to the final score in different ways (e.g. magic is hard to get going but can score you a million points, military can subtract points from opponents etc.).

This is the game’s foundation (pardon the pun) and also its dullest, most math-heavy part. Two unique systems add to it in unique ways. First – in order to get new characters you need to bid on these from an available pool of recruits. You use the same gems as for purchasing to identify which character you’re going after. The trick is if both players bid on the same character – they have to discard their bids and bid again.

Threats and negotiations are common here as nobody wants to let an opponent have a character they really need, but wasting a gem to interrupt someone’s bid is not ideal either.

The square cards that comprise your pyramids also have coloured markers on their top corners and the bottom middle. If, putting together the two cards on the lower level and one on top, you manage to make a full circle – that scores you a gem right away and some additional points at the end of the game.

The game runs for twelve rounds of bidding followed by building phases. Afterwards, in a shocking twist, the player earning the most points at the end of the game is crowned the winner

How it feels:
Before we answer that question – let’s focus on what it DOES NOT feel like. And that’s building a fantasy empire. The majority of the game comes down to a simple calculation of maximum benefit based on what you can afford. The characters’ titles and images have almost no bearing on their effect and the wildly varying art styles fail to establish a consistent theme, ranging from steampunk to sword and sandals fantasy. The quality of it is also all over the place – some pieces are of fantastic quality – evocative and gritty, while others seem to belong on a cheap romance novel cover. The women characters in particular are mostly of the scantily clad variety.

The gems, extremely simple as they are, look very appealing, almost three-dimensional and the colours are rich and vibrant. It is strange to admit this but such a simple element of the game’s look ends up its defining feature. Completing a circle by placing a matching colour on top of a carefully prepared foundation feels rewarding.

The game falls squarely into the “multiplayer solitaire” category where for the majority of its duration you are looking only at your own pyramid, only occasionally glancing at your opponents’ to check if there are any obvious things they are collecting that you should be blocking. The interaction does not truly develop though and the dynamic of playing with others is mostly reserved to the very end when you tally the scores.

The bidding teases exceptional dramatic potential as the reveal of the bids always feels like something special is about to happen, yet it is almost always is anti-climactic as opponents just end up going with their picks. Viceroy plays 2-4 and the interaction does increase in 3-4 player games but the duration grows significantly as well. The math-heavy nature of the bulk of the game makes it vulnerable to analysis paralysis that drags already static-feeling gameplay to a crawl. Two-player games, by contrast are done in a compact 40-50 min time.

Conclusion:
Viceroy, therefore, is best to be taken and appreciated for what it is – a static, low-interaction math puzzle with uneven, yet mostly appealing art and interesting mechanics that produce some satisfying spatial thinking (that ends up being more satisfying than the point calculations that comprise the bulk of the decision-making). It will disappoint those looking for a fantasy experience, despite featuring select knockout art pieces, as the theme feels largely pasted on.

However, if you enjoy the math and spatial thinking, have a fair amount of table space and are looking for a low-interaction, low-competition activity with some notably satisfying moments – Viceroy will be a solid game to bring to the table once in a while. I know I like the gems enough to keep it in my collection.

If you enjoyed this review consider visiting Altema Games website for more neat board game materials.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
9 out of 10 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
6
Hockey Fan
My First Game Tip
Detective
Go to the Zombie Dice page
6
4 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Finched {Casual Gamer} Mar 9th, 2017
“Quick and silly”

I have both the actual physical game (with expansions) and the iPad version of the game. Both are fun to pull out when wanting to kill a few minutes while waiting for other things to get going. It’s a lot like “Pass the Pigs” where you roll some dice and have to choose- keep rolling to potentially score more points (in this game- you score by eating brains) but risk getting shot-gunned and loose all the points this round. it’s a little mix of luck and risk.
This isn’t the game to build your game night around but its fun, its silly (if not a tad morbid- I mean you are playing as a zombie wanting to eat brains) and its quick to learn and quick to play.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
4
Private eye
Noble
Go to the Dixit page
9
7 of 8 gamers thought this was helpful
nicoletergeist {Social Gamer} Mar 4th, 2017
“Rabbits and pictures and tales, oh my!”

As the box says, “A picture is worth a thousand words”. This is a wonderful game that requires equal parts imagination and knowing your friends.

Like others have stated, this game is similar to “Apples to Apples” in its mechanics. each player has a hand of cards, and on their turn, they describe one and put it down. Everyone else tries to match that description with a card of their own to trick the other players while trying to guess which card was being described in the first place. The description can be as short as a few words, or an entire story.

It really helps to be able to guess what someone put down based on not only their clue, but how it fits their personality. For example, once my friend said “a burglar”, and even though there were many other cards that represented that description, the one she put down ended up being a boy and a dragon- she is a huge Lord of the Rings fan.

My one complaint about this game is that the original only comes with a few cards, so you kind of have to buy an expansion to fill up the box and give it more replay value. However, Dixit is never quite the same game and is great to play over and over again.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
7 out of 8 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
4
Rather Dashing Games fan
Go to the Indigo page
8
3 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
RoeSerig {Avid Gamer} Feb 28th, 2017
“Tsuro the next level.”

Our group really liked this as a quick abstract that pretty much everyone can play. The randomness of the tiles allows more experienced players to have fun with less. It’s not terribly deep, but delivers exactly the game experience that the box describes. Its harder to find (for me anyway) than Tsuro, but well worth it.

The components are good, but not amazingly over the top. The rules are very clear and well written, always a nice bonus. The hex board adds a new level of play compared to similar games in this category.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
3 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the Mysterium page
10
6 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Kalani Feb 25th, 2017
“Cooperative Clue”

Clue is a great concept, but what if you could work together to solve the mystery? In Mysterium one player is a ghost who has to provide clues to the other players through strange dreams (weird drawings on cards) alone. The players (minus the ghost) then work together to figure out what their dreams meant and solve the crime.

Mysterium is the most replayable game I have ever played in this genre. Because any part of the dream pictures could be the clue, be it one tiny doll on a shelf, or the general color scheme of the dream. The game totally relies on the players to keep it interesting, to find cool things in the pictures to use as clues, which makes it infinitely replayable.

I have the original ukranian version of the game which has (in my opinion) better art work on the cards. It also has few extraneous game pieces and is completely cooperative (I believe the newer version of the game has some competitive aspect).

This is my favorite whole family game of all time, it gets my gramma and younger cousins arguing about what I intended the dreams to mean and who did the murder, in what room, with what weapon.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
6 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the Timeline: Discoveries page
4
2 of 5 gamers thought this was helpful
Kalani Feb 25th, 2017
“Fun the first time”

This game was fun the first time, but once you start to get a feel for what happened when, it loses replay-ability pretty fast. It also is very western centric in what it considered “discoveries” and in terms of when things were first discovered. The art on the cards is very pretty and the game is very simple to learn for kids, but it doesn’t have much going for it.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
2 out of 5 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile