Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
2
Rated 25 Games
Go to the 7 Wonders page
8
16 of 18 gamers thought this was helpful
lasttruegypsy {Family Gamer} Jun 28th, 2016
“Great fun, But best with 4-6 players”

The gameplay of 7 Wonders is tight and smooth. This game is easy to teach compared to games of similar weight and depth. I have played this with many different groups. I have found that younger players (teenagers 17 and younger) have a tendency to prefer games with stronger themes or more player interaction.

There are special rules that allow this game to be played with 2 players. This variant requires the players to include an imaginary middle player who will allow one player each turn to draw an extra card to play. This is a horrible variant which should never be played by anyone. If you are interested in a 2 player version of 7 Wonders you should check out 7 Wonders Duel in which all of the 2 player problems are corrected.

Overall, this game is incredibly fun and has a very high replay value as there are many strategies to imply. The game plays best with 4-6 players.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
16 out of 18 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
Gamer - Level 7
Book Lover
Canada
Advanced Reviewer
Go to the Eldritch Horror: Strange Remnants page
10
26 of 30 gamers thought this was helpful
Write_By_the_Edge {Avid Gamer} Jun 26th, 2016
“The Stars Are Right”

Strange Remnants is a slightly different approach to Eldritch Horror and the Ancient Ones, and one that fits very well with the themes of the game: exploration, world travel, and ancient mysteries. At first I was a bit surprised at this expansion, which contains the Syzygy rather than one of the typical Ancient Ones drawn from the ranks of the Other Gods and Great Old Ones that have appeared in the other games in Fantasy Flight’s Arkham Files game line. Part of my surprise was that they would take this direction when so few of the “classic” Ancient Ones had made their way into the game–at the time Strange Remnants came out, only seven of the Ancient Ones had made an appearance (one of which was The Rise of the Elder Things, which was also somewhat divergent from the usual style of Ancient Ones in this game’s predecessors).

That said, it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. In Strange Remnants, the investigators are faced with an event rather than a supernatural entity–a cosmic alignment that is approaching. There is still a Mythos force at work, however, as the arrival of the Syzygy heralds the coming of Azathoth. This makes for a fun variation of the usual Eldritch Horror game, as well as giving Azathoth an appearance in a more complex game mode than the standard, very straight forward “when Azathoth awakens, the world ends” version (though, like an Azathoth game, with Syzygy when doom hits zero, the game is over).

Investigators still explore the world trying to solve mysteries, close gates, gather clues and combat the forces of the Mythos, but in the case of the Syzygy Ancient One solving mysteries does not mean the investigators win the game. Instead, the Syzygy Ancient One card is flipped over once the investigators solve two mysteries or when there are three Eldritch tokens on the red space of the Omen track, with one token being added each time the track lands on the red space. When the Ancient One card flips over, the cosmic alignment begins and the investigators must now solve the final mystery, regardless of how many mysteries they have solved previously. The more mysteries that were solved before the Syzygy flipped, the closer the investigators will be to completing the final mystery. Also, investigators are not eliminated if defeated or devoured in a Syzygy game, unlike most Ancient Ones.

The other major feature of Strange Remnants is the Mystic Ruins deck, which is used in games involving either the Syzygy or the related Prelude card (in the latter case, there will be an Adventure to follow, similar to the Doomsayer of Antartica Prelude in Mountains of Madness). This functions similarly to the Expedition Encounter deck, with a Mystic Ruins counter being placed on the space of the board corresponding to the location depicted on the back of the top card in the deck. The locations in the Mystic Ruins deck are The Great Wall of China (Shanghai), Stonehenge (London), Chichen Itza (space 7), and Easter Island (space 3). Each location has the investigators exploring ancient places of power to learn more about the impending cosmic alignment, with each card having a complex encounter with a pass/fail effect.

This expansion is a lot of fun, and demonstrates the different directions Eldritch Horror can take in terms of introducing new ways to play the game. The Mystic Ruins are a lot of fun to explore, and the Syzygy makes for an entertaining variation from the usual battle against the Ancient Ones, making this a fun addition to the game. I hope to see more expansions like this one in the future!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
26 out of 30 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
8
Norway
Plaid Hat Games fan
AEG fan
Tasty Minstrel Games Fan
Go to the Mage Knight Board Game: The Lost Legion page
9
40 of 47 gamers thought this was helpful
X-hawk {Avid Gamer} Jun 25th, 2016
“5 player Mage Knight”

You’ve played Mage Knight up to 4 player by now – this expansion gives you a 5th player.
I’d recommend less than 5 players (3-4 players) in Mage Knight because this will make your game even slower – 4 other players making you contribute less to the making of the campaign. But if you like more players this is great! In addition you will get a quite different character consept to try out.
Wolfhawk is a solo character that will boost your combat prowess hunting with less npc’s in your entourage and add a quite different playstyle to the game.
As of General Volkare (your enemy in this scenario) you will meet a lot of resistance and interesting takes on the game.
I use the expansion without Volkare but with the other content (Wolfhawk and tiles) and it’s a really good adition and makes the game (both competative and coop) a step futher into the realms of Mage Knight fantasy.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
40 out of 47 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
Gamer - Level 7
Book Lover
Canada
Advanced Reviewer
Go to the Eldritch Horror: Under the Pyramids page
10
27 of 31 gamers thought this was helpful
Write_By_the_Edge {Avid Gamer} Jun 24th, 2016
“Explore the Secrets of Egypt”

The second “big box” expansion for Eldritch Horror takes investigators to a new side board: Egypt. The Egypt side board can be accessed through different points in the main board, differing somewhat from the Antarctica side board from “The Mountains of Madness.” Also, unlike Antarctica, Egypt’s locations are categorized (city, wilderness). Like the previous side board, there are two ways for Egypt to be introduced to the game: either through the Prelude card “Under the Pyramids” or through choosing the Nephren-Ka Ancient One. While not as directly connected to the Lovecraft story “Under the Pyramids” (also known as “Imprisoned with the Pharaohs) the way that Mountains of Madness was, this expansion adds a lot of thematic elements that fans of the Mythos will recognize from stories such as “The Haunter of the Dark.”

Nephren-Ka, the Dark Pharaoh, is one of the two new Ancient Ones included in this expansion, the other being Abhoth, the source of uncleanliness. Both have distinctive elements–when facing Nephren-Ka, investigators must unravel the secrets of the pharaoh’s rule, much of which has been stricken out of history, while also contending with the possible threat of one or more of the many Masks of Nyarlathotep. Abhoth, meanwhile, has what is perhaps the most unique Cultists to date for Eldritch Horror. They aren’t really cultists at all, but rather the Spawn of Abhoth, so when investigators meet a Cultist monster during an Abhoth game they have a card encounter against one of the Spawn in place of a standard combat encounter. This can be especially interesting and challenging, as unlike a traditional Cultist the investigators may have to resort to different skill rolls to overcome the encounter, which comes in the form of a complex (pass/fail effect) encounter.

This expansion also brings with it some fun new investigators like the perpetually-Cursed Rex Murphy (who gets some pretty solid benefits to offset the fact that he’s always Cursed) and Monteray Jack, who is geared towards acquiring ancient treasures and using them to push back the danger of the Ancient One. As always with Eldritch Horror expansions, there are also new cards for the various desks, including a selection of Glamour spells that provide some sort of standing effect but require a Lore roll during Reckonings to control the magic.

Overall, I really liked this expansion. It introduces some great new elements and characters to the Eldritch Horror game, and also expands on the existing decks and game play. It also seems to indicate that the game designers are learning as they go, building on what they did with Mountains of Madness and finding ways to keep the game evolving and changing.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
27 out of 31 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Belgium
I play green
Amateur Advisor
Go to the Barony page
8
44 of 50 gamers thought this was helpful
Outarde {Casual Gamer} Jun 23rd, 2016
“Conquer the world and become Duke”

Concept
You start the game with the noble title of Baron and your goal is to become Duke. You do this by building villages and strongholds (collecting resources) or building cities (victory points). Expand your territory or destroy villages by moving your knights.

Material
The components are beautifully made: the pawns are great and the land tiles are thick and subtile illustrated.

Rules
The rules are well explained and easy to learn. Only 6 possible actions, straightforward scoring.

Gameplay
The game plays a bit like “Catan meets Chess”, there is no luck involved, 1 action per turn and no hidden information. But Barony is an elegant game, there are no more than 4 different pieces and only the knights can move. The random setup makes every game different, and the turns can be very quick. I don’t like Chess but I love Barony!

Negative points
Possible problems for the colour-blind (not for me)? Placing your 3 cities at the startup will be crucial for the rest of the game. It’s a tense game, but the end can be a bit of an anti-climax.

Conclusion
Barony is a beautiful, strategic and elegant area-control game. Check ik out!


Link to “Live Play” by GreyElephant Gaming: https://youtu.be/Q6Q6X1xl91A

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
44 out of 50 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
El Dorado
I'm a Gamin' Fiend!
Junior Reporter
Master Grader
Go to the Pandemic: State of Emergency page
8
43 of 49 gamers thought this was helpful
brodie {Avid Gamer} Jun 22nd, 2016
“Modular awesomeness”

I love pandemic, and anything expands to it, I grab immediately.

I’ll admit, I had a bit of buyers remorse with this expansion, but it faded rapidly. The pricepoint is a bit high (almost as much as the standalone game), but it’s well worth it.

It includes the following modules – any of which can be played with just Vanilla Pandemic – On the Brink and/or In the Lab are not required, but also great, and compatible with these:

Hinterlands – More board = more awesomeness – adds the ability for diseases to be spread into, and from, animals in the hinterlands via chance (a die)

Emergency Events – In the Vanilla Pandemic, all events are good, perhaps, great. These ones are bad, perhaps terrible, and remain in effect until a new crisis is to be dealt with…

Superbug Challenge – A disease which cannot be treated, or cured, without the help of a special vaccine factory.

Quarantines – Have some actions to spare after you’ve gone somewhere and need to stay? Look no further! Quarantines are there to help you!

There are new roles – some have special abilities which work great with some of the modules (Veterinarian is great for the Hinterlands), while others are great at everything (for example – First Responder)

The new components are plastic, which is a bit of a bummer for wood enthusiasts, but not a big deal.

Conclusion – Add all the modules, add one, or add none, more Pandemic is always a good thing! Teach the basic version, then add to your hearts content. Lovely!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
43 out of 49 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
4
AEG fan
Tasty Minstrel Games Fan
Go to the Love Letter page
8
41 of 47 gamers thought this was helpful
B. Chereaux {Avid Gamer} Jun 22nd, 2016
“best with a group”

This is a great party game to help non-gamers have a fun night. A simple deduction and luck game, its’ simplistic rules and fast rounds will have everyone at the table enjoying the night.

Pros:
the components are few and durable
the gameplay is very fast
players have options, but nothing that would induce a bad case of analysis paralysis

Cons:
it doesn’t play well with 2 people (the luck factor is increased with each lower number of players)
the wooden cubes that count affection are very small

Overall this is a light game that almost everyone will be able to enjoy

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
41 out of 47 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
Canada
I play red
Book Lover
Comic Book Fan
Go to the Machi Koro page
7
42 of 48 gamers thought this was helpful
Cyberman {Avid Gamer} Jun 22nd, 2016
“We Built this City on Random Rolls ”

I first saw this game in the back of a My Little Pony comic I was reading to my kids. I admit the game didn’t appeal to me, likely because of where it was advertised. Snobbish of me? Yes and I was foolish to be so.

A few months ago, my kids and I were in a board game café, they recognized the game from the MLP comic, so we gave it a whirl.
I was immediately enchanted by the game’s simplicity and its clean, cartoonish art.

The game is exceedingly simple:

Everyone starts with four undeveloped “landmarks” (train station, shopping mall, amusement park, radio tower) and two resources (wheat field and bakery).

All of the supply cards, numbered 1 through 12 (some have more than one number, such as the bakery, which carries “2-3”) are sorted in their respective numerical stacks. So all of the 1’s together, 5’s together, etc.

Everyone gets three coins and away we go.

Until you develop the train station, which allows you to roll two dice, you will roll a die on your turn. If the die face matches a card, resolve the effect and see if you earn or lose income. Then determine if you have the loot and want to buy a card from the supply (good idea to buy cards…maximize your chances to build up your coins and take coins from others).

The first person to build all four landmarks wins.

The supply cards come in four colours: blue earns income on anyone’s turn (eg if you roll a 1, everyone will earn a coin from their respective wheat fields); red takes coins from whoever rolled the die or dice; green earns you income on your turn only; purple scores you income from your opponents but only on your turn.

That’s all there is to it. You can teach it in minutes. In fact, it can be taught faster than you can set it up.

Obviously the die and dice rolling add randomness but I enjoy how benefits/losses are spread around: you can earn on your turn, everyone can earn on your turn, you can lose money on someone else’s turn, others can lose money on your turn.

The strategy comes into play when deciding which supply cards you wish to purchase. You’ll be rolling a single die until you can afford to develop the train station (costing a mere 4 coins), but the other landmark cards have interesting benefits as well. Which to choose first? Do you go with your usual play-style or get a read of the table and see how your opponents are playing?

Do you pick supply cards based on the probability of oft-appearing dice values (for those Catan players, remembering the probability pips on the dice rolls chips may help you) or which cards will earn bigger bucks? Do you play a defensive game and focus on your play area or pick up a bunch of red and purple cards so you can put a dent in your opponents’ cash piles?

Lots of options.

And with the Harbor and Millionaire’s Row expansions, you get new landmark cards, new supply cards, and a new way to lay out the supply cards that randomizes what’s on the table.

Now to the pros and cons:

Pros:

• A fast and simple game that can either be an appetizer for the main event or multiple games over the evening.
• Kids love it. Cozy pictures, fast game-play (could be some AP though. See below), straightforward rules, not a ton of literacy or numeracy needed so the wee ones can join in. My 6-year-old son adores this game. When he says “Dad can we play Machi Koro?”, how can I refuse?
• Chance figures significantly in this game, but there is a good amount of strategy when deciding what to buy when.

Cons:

• Some may feel the replay-factor of the base game is limited. But this is overcome with the expansions. I bought the nifty deluxe tin. Has everything and looks cool. I like shiny things. Squirrel!
• Power gamers may feel a touch bored. But maybe not. I went down this hobby rabbit hole quite some time ago and I adore the simplicity of this game. As with all games though, à chacun son goût.
• Depending on who is playing, there will be those who agonize over what to purchase from the supply. You can either hustle things along verbally (as my family is wont to do) or go with the flow until everyone gets comfortable with the cards.
• When someone is on a roll, the cash that person can amass can make the game feel lopsided. A good option is to snap up a few red and purple cards and see if you can put a dent in his wallet.

Verdict:

A fun, engaging, simple game that is well worth the low sticker price. This will appeal to a variety of gamers and I recommend it especially for the family gamer’s shelf.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
42 out of 48 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the Automobiles page
8
40 of 45 gamers thought this was helpful
J. Smith Jun 22nd, 2016
“Start your Engines!”

Replay Value: With the Dominion like randomization of cards available along with two different tracks there is a lot of different combinations possible.

Components: Great components, people with issues deciphering shades may have some issues since the shades of grey are really close to each other

Learning Curve: After the first initial steps of buying cubes and arranging them on the player boards in front of you, you’ll be racing at full speed in no time.

Overall: A great game whether or not your a racing fan (Which I am). If racing isn’t your cup of tea there is a lot of strategy and depth to the game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
40 out of 45 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Smash Up Fan
Go to the Smash Up: Munchkin page
 
43 of 52 gamers thought this was helpful
WildcatPat33 {Avid Gamer} Jun 16th, 2016
“More Fun”

This expansion and the Cthulu expansions were by far my least favorite pre-purchase. Had no interest in either of these and I actually did not plan on buying them.
After a recent gift card given to us, I got on the web and found this for less than $12. I was stoked and purchased it.

We just played it over our lunch break and I was really impressed with it.
I was Warrior-Thieves and won the game. The monsters and treasures played well.
There is A LOT going on but it is still fun.

Happy Smashing

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
43 out of 52 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile