Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Catan page
 
Gurggles {Avid Gamer} Dec 22nd, 2014
“Fun and quick way to learn the game”

I’m a fan of digital board games as it allows new players to get a grasp of the rules quickly. I’ve played this on android, and it’s a fantastic adaptation of the board game. The AI is a bit predictable, but there are enough characters to play against to keep it fresh. Whether you’re stuck on public transportation or waiting a while for an appointment this game will help you pass the time.

I would pick this up on android since you can play it on your phone and tablet for one price.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
0 out of 2 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
Go to the Mille Bornes page
10
Eye Guzzle {Family Gamer} Dec 22nd, 2014
“A Fun All Ages Family Game”

A retro French card game detailing a long distance car tour (French terminology is embedded in the card graphics, though its easily playable by English speakers with the English language rulebook). Easy to comprehend process: goal of being first to drive 1,000KM avoiding obstacles like red lights, punctured tires and running out of gas.

The game is fun, engaging and–after the initial challenge of getting familiar with the rules–becomes an easy game playable by 6 yr olds up to adults. Varied point values for different card plays keeps the outcome of the scoring from being a foregone conclusion as to who will win.

The luck of the draw and strategic card play really does vary the experience from possibility of a very quick trip to being stalled and needing repairs for many turns of the game.

Definitely fun for families; or just for adults…Also a real nostalgia trip for those of us who played it as kids in the 60s and 70s!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
2 out of 3 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
4
Gamer - Level 4
Knight
Go to the Small World page
9
6 of 6 gamers thought this was helpful
omwfyu {Avid Gamer} Dec 22nd, 2014
“Eat your enemies and conquer the gold!”

Overview

Games are about 40 minutes, 2-5 players.

In this game you will play as fantasy race with a unique special power. There are total 14 different races and 20 special powers that can be combine to create a unique set up.
Players will try to defeat each other by conquering the different terrain on the map.

6 randomly-drawn combinations are placed next to the board map.
Each player then selects a race and special power combination. The top combination is always free but the others combos will cost you. All players begin with 5 coins.

A combination can for example look like this;
Wealthy + Skeletons
Forest + Sorcerers
Alchemist + Dwarfs
Flying + Amazons

Once a combo is selected, those below are moved up the and a new one is revealed.

The combination of race and power determines how many race tokens you will be able to play with. You will start placing your race tokens from the corners of the board or from a region placed along the ocean.
Once on the map, you can conquer any adjacent region as long as you have sufficient tokens.

To conquer a region on the map you must place 2 race tokens. If the region is occupied by a enemy race you´ll have to place 1 additional race token for every enemy that is placed there. The same goes if the region is occupied by a fortress, mountain, or a troll’s lair marker.

Objective

The objective during your turn is to conquer as many regions of the map as possible and at the same time try to incorporate your race and special. power. Some powers will grant you extra coin for a specific conquered terrain. Some powers will make it possible to build fortresses that can generate more coin and defense.
Race and special power can also benefit you to conquer regions with fewer tokens.

After your have placed out all your markers, either by conquering or defeating enemy’s you will count how many regions you have, you´ll receive 1 coin for every conquer region.

After you have counted your earnings you will be able to replace your race tokens for defensive purposes.

Goal

The goal is simple, most coin tokens after 9 turns (4 player) win.

Verdict

This is a great game, truly. Its a very strategic game witch makes it very even from the beginning.
I would recommend to play with 3 or 4 players because it takes a bit to long with 5 players and its easy to lose focus.
I also like that you can change your race and special powers through out the game and quickly change your strategy. This feature makes it an even more diverse game.

This is a definitive buy!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
6 out of 6 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
I Am What I Am
Go to the Magic: The Gathering page
 
RowanCM {Casual Gamer} Dec 21st, 2014
“Gathering The Magic”

It wasn’t that long ago that I somehow got myself into playing MTG. I have been playing for about a year and a half now and it is still as exciting as the day I bought my first booster pack.

Magic the Gathering really is an expensive game. For people like myself especcially. I am one of those people that play MTG for the lore and for the excitement factor of opening up a fresh booster pack. The expensive way to play, however in my opinion the most fun.

It’s more than a fun game to get into. The hardest part in my case was trying to find friends that were willing to buy some cards and jump into the MTG world with me. These days it has become more and more difficult, unless I was to step into my closest ‘Good Games’ and be annihilated in less than 5 minutes.

It is easy to learn the basics but very hard to master. It is a game that requires a fair amount of strategy and problem solving. You need to be able to build a deck of roughly 40 or more cards and have each card able to play off of each other in a way that will grant you victory.

All in all however, it is one of the most fun and excitable games I have played in my life and I am happy to throw away my mortgage!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 4 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the Power Grid page
9
4 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Howard {Avid Gamer} Dec 20th, 2014
“Fun to play”

Presents a good challenge. Enjoyable game. Good family game, as well as a competitive game for friends. Doesn’t take too long to learn & even my 10 year old grandson (smart for his age) enjoys playing it. Love that it has two sides you can choose from (Germany and the United States of America). Not to keen on some of the cities they selected for the U.S., but it’s not that big of a deal. Lots of strategy and one wrong move can leave you without enough money or resources to win the game.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
4 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
My First Game Tip
Strategist
Go to the Smash Up page
9
7 of 12 gamers thought this was helpful
Eragar {Avid Gamer} Dec 19th, 2014
“Smash Up--A Mathematician's Review to 11”

The idea behind Smash Up is reasonably simple: There are a bunch of groups–Pirates, Zombies, Robots, etc.–trying to take over the world. But they’ve realized that they can’t do it by themselves.

So they’ve teamed up.

That’s right, now Zombie Robots, Alien Pirates, and Dinosaur Ninjas are trying to take over the world.

Yes, you read that right. [i]Wizard Pirates, Ninja Zombies, and Alien Dinosaurs are trying to take over the world![/i]

The game starts with each player taking turns choosing one of the available factions and the twenty cards that make that faction’s deck, and then choosing a second faction to go with that first one.

Once everyone has chosen their factions, players take turns placing Minions on the various bases. When the total power of all Minions (the number in the upper-left corner of the card) is equal to or greater than the base’s breakpoint, it scores. Whichever player had the most power gets the Victory Points for first place, the second place player gets second, and the third gets third. A new base then enters play. Players also play Actions that change how things work and give special abilities.

Each faction is themed differently and plays differently, making 28 entirely unique combinations to play with.

[b]The Stats[/b]

Components: 7.583/11

Cost Value: 9.5/11

Replayability: 9/11

Strategic Elements: 8/11

Social Value: 8/11

Thematic Value: 8/11

Rules Clarity: 7.5/11

Balance: 9/11

Fun Level: 9.75/11

[b]GRAND TOTAL: 8.481/11[/b]

You can read my full review (as well as get explanations on why I rate things the way I do) on my site: mathematiciangamer.net

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
7 out of 12 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
9
Miniature Painter
Rosetta Stone
Advanced Reviewer
BoardGaming.com Beta 1.0 Tester
Go to the Pass the Pigs page
7
11 of 13 gamers thought this was helpful
“The most adorable dice game ever!”

Have you ever thought that dice would be so much better if they were pigs instead of cubes or dodecahedrons? If so, there is no reason to read any more of my blather. Go buy this right now!

What?

For the 99.99999% of you who read that and are confused, yet did not click “not helpful” and moved on, Pass the Pigs is a clever push your luck dice game that replaces your tried and true cubes with adorable, slightly squishy pink piggies.

What?

You already said that.

Well, what is in the box? Wait, that isn’t a box…

Nope. It is a plastic case. You pull on the ends, and the inside slides out. There isn’t much here, but it is everything you need to play in a small container. There is a scorepad, two little pencils, a scoring reference sheet and the aforementioned (slightly) squishy pink piggies.

What do you do?

Take the pigs and roll them like dice. You score points based upon how the pigs land. For example, if they land on their feet or on their back, you get five points for that pig. If both land the same way (on their backs, for example) you get bonus points (in this case, you score 20). They can land on their snout or jowls for even more points.

As previously stated, this is a push your luck game. You keep rolling the glorious bacon givers, racking up points, until you decide to stop and bank the points you earned that round. If the pigs end up on their sides, one on their right and one on their left, your turn ends and you get no points that round. If the pigs land and are touching, your turn ends and you lose all points you had accumulated so far this game. Play continues until a player reaches a pre-determined number of points.

Thoughts

Is two tiny rubber pigs in a plastic case for somewhere around $12.00? Sure, but it is so much more than just that. It is two tiny rubber pigs in a plastic case that you throw around on the table like dice hoping one or both will land with their snout on the surface and their hind legs up in the air!

The case is easy to carry, can fit in a pocket or purse, contains writing implements and scorepad and can be pulled out to keep the kids quiet at the restaurant for a little while. Certainly just a novelty for adults, but something your kids will be up for playing again and again. If you have little ones, I guarantee you spent this much or more on things that get a lot less mileage than these delightful little oinkers. Just keep them out of their mouths. They don’t actually taste like a spiral ham, and they don’t stand up as well with teeth marks all over them.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
11 out of 13 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
I'm a Real Person
Go to the Eldritch Horror page
9
22 of 22 gamers thought this was helpful
dogfromhell {Avid Gamer} Dec 17th, 2014
“An Epic Experience ”

I’m a newbie to the whole board gaming hobby, I’ve only started collecting (and playing) these modern board games this year. Coincidentally, I’ve only recently started reading Lovecraft’s fiction. Being the type of person that dives deep into a new interest, I bought Eldritch Horror after weeks lusting for it.

I won’t delve into the mechanics as the other reviews have already put it into more detail than I ever could.

Experience

I’ve had this game for a month and have only been able to play it three times due to limited opportunities to actually play. I’ve played it once as a 2-player and twice as 3-players cooperating against the Ancient One.

The rules are actually fairly easy to learn – but the game is difficult. We haven’t won a yet and have our behinds handed to us when we thought we were doing fine.

That’s what the game does well. At the start, you and your fellow investigators are all confident and optimistic. You’ll have a strategy in your head and amongst yourselves. However, the random challenges that the game throws at you can quickly throw a wrench in your plans.

You’ll quickly feel the desperation as you and your fellows are scattered around the globe trying to rest but looking at the Mythos deck and what horrors it can spew at you.

All three of our plays were exciting and there were some moments where we exclaimed happily at triumphs and really felt down when a character died.

Conclusion
The game is intimidating (well, to a noob like me I guess) and the difficulty is quite high. But the game’s disregard for your (in-game) health is what makes me and my group keep coming back. We want to uncover more experiences, buy more assets/items so that we can rescue the world from Cthulhu (or whoever).

I’ve already picked up the Unseen Forces expansions and me and my mates are already chomping at the bit to face our next deaths.

Highly recommended to gamers who love theme and co-operation.

Two tentacles up!

9/10

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
22 out of 22 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
AEG fan
Miniature Painter
Go to the Yardmaster Express page
7
7 of 7 gamers thought this was helpful
Topdecker {Avid Gamer} Dec 17th, 2014
“Light-weight frenetic filler”

When you first get Yardmaster Express, you get to marvel a moment at the packaging. The outer-sleeve for the box is slick and glossy and is a tight fit for the game box it is protecting. Once you slide the outer-sleeve off, it reveals a game box with a magnetic clasp that opens to reveal the components.

I have the Kickstarter version, so your contents may be a bit different. You’ll see a deck of cards wrapped in plastic, a wooden first player token, a cloth bag with the game logo, the rules, and a caboose expansion which is a small set of cards that is also plastic wrapped. All of this fits into what is essentially a double-sized card box and it is well laid out and considered. The component level is surprisingly high.

The game itself is very simple and very fast to play. It can handle up to 4 players, but it might be best with two. Anyhow, a shared hand is dealt, with one card for each player in the game. The active player then draws a card – so in a two-player game, there would now be three cards. You choose a card and attach it to the end of your train.

Attaching the train is where the rules get as complex as they will be. You can attach a card if it has the same color or the same number. If none of the cards meet that criteria, you can flip the card over to turn it in the a low-point value wild card.

Once you have played a card, you are done and you pass the remaining cards to the next player. Play continues until a set number of cards are on the table (7 in a 2 player game, 6 in a 3 player game, and finally 5 cards in a 4 player game).

Scoring is pretty easy – just add up all the numbers on the cards. Whomever got the longest run of unbroken colors adds the length of the run to their score – and this is often the difference maker.

The play time can be under 10 minutes once everyone knows the rules. As you add players, you add time. To me, the game feels a bit more random with 4 players since so many cards are taken by the time it returns to you. It also takes longer to play a game with more players. Two or three players seems to be the sweet spot.

There is a bit of room for gamers to make some choices, but towards the end you will often find yourself wishing for a lucky card draw. Knowing when to flip a card and set yourself up for connecting any card is probably the biggest choice to make in the course of a game.

If you want a super light-weight fast playing filler game, Yardmaster Express is quick and easy.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
7 out of 7 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Gamer - Level 3
Go to the Elder Sign page
9
10 of 18 gamers thought this was helpful
“Solid Game”

I like this game a lot more then I was expecting. The item, magic cards and pieces are a bit small in my opinion, but they are manageable. I had to put several smaller bags in the box to make sure I didn’t lose any of the pieces. The mechanics of how the cards (rooms) are placed work well. There are enough options to move around, but not too many you feel overwhelmed by the choices you need to make.
It’s a great game that everyone can enjoy and play.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
10 out of 18 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile