Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
5
USA
I play blue
Go to the Age of Empires III page
9
Dick Dale {Avid Gamer} Feb 13th, 2016
“One of my favorites”

My goal is to get you interested in playing the game not to teach you how to play the game.

I played Age of empires III and fortunately Age of discovery was being offered on Kickstarter shortly after that. So I bought it and most of this review will be for Age of discovery which is still available Age of Empires III is out of print and will not be reproduced.

That being said, this is a worker placement area control game. I own several big box sets and this game It is the heaviest box of all the games I own. I bought it on kickstarter and took all the options. This gave me additional miniature sets and metal coins and some expansions.

Features of new deluxe version
+ New board
+ Updated art
+ Over 500 miniatures including high-quality coins
+ Newly designed rule book
+ Archival-quality Box with storage for all the components
+ More players (depends on how may additional options you purchase)

Breakdown of miniatures
Each color has:
30 Colonist
10 Builders
5 Captains
5 Merchants
10 Missionary
10 Soldiers

A total of 10 Merchant Ships available.

Special features of placing certain figures from Colonist dock:
Merchants – Gain $5
Missionary – Add an additional Colonist
Soldiers – The ability to kill/remove another player figure in location placed
Builders – Increase Victory points

The game is broken down into three phases with different building coming out in each phase. Scoring is done through the game and end of game scoring.

Builder expansion adds Special powers for each country

In the earlier version some people complained about not being able to tell miniatures apart. So they added different shaped bases for similar shaped pieces. I never has a problem with this.

After players get the flow of the game play moves very quickly as long as players plan ahead. There is a lot to this game and playing it several times will give you a better chance of winning. However I won the previous version of the game the first time I played against 2 people who had played the game 10 times or more and two avid gamers who had not played before like me.

This game has everything a serious gamer could want. I love worker placement and area control games so it is one of my favorites. The components are of the highest quality and there is a lot of them.

It is hard to get on the table in my weekly meetup group because of the time it takes to complete a game. 90 to 120 minutes play time. Add some time for first time players.

It is a big investment but I feel it is worth it. If you get a chance to play do so I am sure you will become a fan.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
2 out of 2 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
4
Greater Than Games fan
Go to the Fish Cook page
 
Joe Lee {Avid Gamer} Feb 12th, 2016
“One of the best Cheapass games. . .and a whole lot of fun”

I have been playing this game for quite a while now. I played it since it was print and play and it is always a hit. I have found it goes well with my gamer group and as well as with family. It is a funny game and a strategic game as well. It is a game of being a fish cook and gathering your fish and ingredients in the morning and then cooking what you can in the evening and earning money for doing so. The art is cartoon-y and recipes have somewhat realistic and some funny names. It plays fast and fun. The fish market and ingredient market are both determined by a set of dice for each which are rolled and placed in the line that matches the numbers rolled.
The players buy ingredients one at a time until one runs out and then each player gets one more buy. And the person that caused the end of the buying phase becomes the first to cook. Each player starts off with a hand of family recipes that you can work on as well as the face up recipes in the cooking school. In the cooking school, you can buy the face up recipes, buy a random recipe from the top of the cooking school deck or just prepare one of the cooking school recipes in the evening and therefore claiming it from the cooking school. Also, once players have prepared a recipe from their hand they place it on the table to indicate that it is now on their menu. When a recipe is on a player’s menu they can re-make it multiple times, and other players can also prepare it and they make the money and have the ability to steal it and add it to their own menu. This matters because at the end of the game the player with the most of a size of a recipe will get a bonus. Each recipe has an amount a player gets paid when they prepare it and also a bonus amount. The bonus amount is only awarded when you prepare a recipe from your hand, one in your menu and when you buy from the cooking school. If you take a recipe from the cooking school instead of buying it, you get no money. If you cook a recipe in another players’ menu you get the paid amount but the owner gets the bonus, but you get the opportunity to steal it by rolling a die and if it equals or is more than the size of the recipe you steal it.
The players will prepare recipes one at a time going around until no one can prepare a meal and then you move the round marker and re-roll all the dice and start the next day. You play for 5 days and at the end of the game the player with the most money is the winner.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
1 out of 4 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
8
I play yellow
USA
Check Out My Favorites
Smash Up: Pirate Faction Fan
Go to the Galaxy Trucker page
9
12 of 16 gamers thought this was helpful
Player 1 Yellow {Avid Gamer} Feb 12th, 2016
“Should be called Schadenfreude: the Game”

Nothing really new to say, but we’ve been having a lot of fun lately since the Missions expansion came out and I felt like promoting and piling on.
——————————————————————-
One of the most fun gaming experiences with every sitting.
The new Missions expansion has re-energized our group for this chaos game.

The first part is an enjoyable exercise in building and planning. the speed element adds tension and can fluster some folk.

The 2nd half, the Flight, is always a chaotic, often hysterical race to see who’s carefully constructed starship will be blown to smithereens the least/best. But it isn’t just a sit-back-and-let-the-fates-whack-you-with-adventure-cards thing. There are important decisions to be made at every turn (whether to sacrifice crew or wait, to land for cargo or race to front, spend the batteries now or save for later, etc).

And when the USS Enterprise-shaped ship has it’s single connector neck piece obliterated by Sabotage or the Pirates’ lasers, leaving that player to decide which half of their ship to leave behind, their opponents will always moan in sympathy (or raucous laughter and high-fives, the schadenfreude is real).

Approached with a light heart and good sense of humor (and expectation of losing, perhaps spectacularly) and this Vlaada game is tough to beat for an hour or two of ridiculous fun!

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
12 out of 16 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Novice Reviewer
Advanced Grader
Petroglyph
Go to the Stone Age page
10
12 of 15 gamers thought this was helpful
Rukkus {Avid Gamer} Feb 12th, 2016
“Lots of factors in Stone Age”

This is hands down my wife’s favorite game. What she likes best is the the strategy of where you are going to place your meeples. That certain “resources” are only available at certain times, so if the tools shed, farming, or procreation station is open you have to jump on it while you have the chance. We also like that there is a limited amount of space on resources forcing people to make choices depending on what’s available at the time.

She likes that there is multiple ways to win. You can focus on buying huts or spending resources to buy cards that multiply your points from tools, or huts or meeples.

Each game can be different depending on what the other players strategies are. So the replay value is high. Your turns go fairly quickly so players can feel like they are apart of the game play the whole time.

The rules and mechanics also lend themselves to be learned at a high rate so the game doesn’t seem to bog down.

One thing that can be frustrating for people that are just learning the game and are playing with experienced Stone Agers is understanding the multiple ways to win. It’s easy for me anyways to get lazer focused one way to play, when what this game encourages is making adjustments.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
12 out of 15 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Gamer - Level 2
Go to the Elysium page
9
11 of 13 gamers thought this was helpful
JGunnz {Avid Gamer} Feb 11th, 2016
“Set collection with special powers - a gift from the gods!”

Time and Complexity
Looks more complicated than it is. Took about one hour to teach and play my first 2 player game.

The game is definitely more on the medium/heavy side as far as decision making goes but mechanically it is fairly simply.

The game’s beauty is that it gives you a lot to think about in neat and quick package !

Game Play Mechanics
Here is the game in a nutshell. On your turn you discard one of your four pillars and take one of the available cards or a quest tile. Cards give you special powers and score you points, quest tiles enable your cards to score and give you gold. At the end of each round you will have taken 3 cards and 1 quest tile. Cards score in numbered sets (i.e. sets of all 1s, 2s, or 3s; or a “straight” consisting of a 1,2 and 3 for the same god – [i.e. suit]).

One of the unique aspects of Elysium is that when your cards are in scoring position they do not give you any special powers and you can only move a limited number of cards into scoring position each round. Thus, the timing of when you move your cards into scoring position and how long you decide to take advantage of each card’s special power is an essential tension the game forces you to grapple with.

Thus, at its core, Elysium is a game about balance. What column you discard when choosing cards impacts what cards you can obtain in future turns, how long you keep a card above your Elysium (i.e. outside of scoring position) will determine how long you will get a benefit from the card but also reduce the chance you will be able to transfer it for points in later turns. Also how you organize your sets matter – whether you go for straights or duplicate cards- straights are easier but worth less points duplicates can be worth more but are more expansive and harder to obtain.

All-in-all lots of good decision making in a fairly quick game (a two player game is under an hour).

Iconography
The hardest part for beginners is getting down the iconography – and there is quite a bit of it, however once you start planing it becomes intuitive. One of the nice things is that each card’s ability is also printed on the card – however, one minor complaint is that the print is very small.

Components
Great art and components !

Overall
Overall, this is one of the best set collection games out there because it offers so much more than set collection. Special powers, card selection, player interaction, great art and components, and a cool theme bring this game to a 9 ! It was also a worthy 2015 Kennerspiel des Jahres nomination.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
11 out of 13 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Novice Reviewer
Advanced Grader
Petroglyph
Go to the Guillotine page
8
18 of 21 gamers thought this was helpful
Rukkus {Avid Gamer} Feb 10th, 2016
“Heads will roll..”

Guillotine is a lighthearted card game that can be played quickly, easily under 30 min. The mechanics are simple: collect the noble at the start of your line or rearrange the line to collect a different noble. The art work on the cards in my opinion is pretty funny, I even went as far as to paint the picture of the executioner and guillotine.

Strangely the game offers an opportunity to tell my kids and the kids at my school’s board game club a little of the French Revolution. Pointing out who King Louie, Marie and Robespierre were.

The action cards allow for a little nastiness against the other players by giving them negative points, not allowing them to rearrange the line or play action cards on their turn. I like that you can effect other people’s scores besides just improving your own.

It is also nice that the game is over in three rounds (days) so it’s a great filler game or a game you can play multiple times. Not a game we play on a regular basis but we will go to in spurts when we want a change of pace from the more involved games we usually play.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
18 out of 21 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Go to the Sutakku page
8
22 of 26 gamers thought this was helpful
Highland Wizard {Casual Gamer} Feb 10th, 2016
“Fun quick easy to learn”

If you are looking for a quick filler game try it. If math is a challenge to a player they may not enjoy it.

It plays up to 12 people so it works well for a filler game. It plays in about 15 minutes more if explaining as you go. Easy to learn one time through and you got it.

Good replay-ability but not good to replay several time in a row.

The following is courtesy Boardgamegeek:

Steeped in Japanese folklore, SUTAKKU was originally developed to teach the common man the foibles of wishing for more than he had.

In this quick-playing, push-your-luck dice game, you attempt to create the tallest stack of dice in order to gain the highest score per turn. To play, roll three dice and add two of them to an ever-climbing stack of dice. You can choose to stop rolling and score your stacked dice at any time, but pushing your luck will net you more points if you succeed. Continue as long as you dare – but like the stonecutter of legend, who was never satisfied, you may find yourself with naught, right back where you began. The wise will distinguish ambition from reaching beyond one’s means.
SUTAKKU is beautifully crafted with classic Japanese design aesthetics and features hand-inked brush art characters on premium engraved dice. These twelve dice are ¾” on a side, perfect for stacking. The game also includes a cloth dice bag, stacking board, and scorepad.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
22 out of 26 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Novice Reviewer
Advanced Grader
Petroglyph
Go to the Risk page
7
26 of 31 gamers thought this was helpful
Rukkus {Avid Gamer} Feb 9th, 2016
“It all depends on the group of people you play with.”

This is one of the first games that I played that was different because I wasn’t trying to move pawns around a circle or follow some colored path. This game allows choices and lots of them. Yes the game is won and lost on dice rolls but the choices you make can totally help the outcome.
You get to choose which countries you start in (or if you deal out the cards for a quicker game) which countries to reinforce. You decide where to attack and when the right time to hand in those valuable sets for extra armies. Where to use your one troop move. You can even decide when to make alliances (you know you do it)and when to stab a brother in the back. That’s where the strategy comes in.
The enjoyment of the game I think depends on the group you are playing with. Do they understand the level of commitment? Are they competitive enough that if they are eliminated early they would want to jump back in the next time you break it out? I have played with a few different groups, ones that can’t get enough no matter who wins and ones it is like pulling teeth to get more than one play.
Regardless it’s a great game, with lots of options, many “house rules” and with the right group lots of replayability. I would suggest having a couple of filler games that people can play while they wait for the world conqueror to emerge. In my opinion the biggest drawback of Risk, that a game that can easily to more than 2 hours could have someone waiting around after 30 min.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
26 out of 31 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
USA
I play blue
Go to the Between Two Cities page
9
31 of 36 gamers thought this was helpful
Dick Dale {Avid Gamer} Feb 8th, 2016
“Work with two partners to build the best two cities”

I love this game and can not wait to introduce it to others.

In this drafting game you will place two tiles rather than one on each turn because you will use one to build with the player on your right and the other to play with the player on your left. You must keep a balance while trying to build the best TWO cities not just the best city.

The value of the sets grow exponentially and placement becomes much harder in later rounds because certain tiles may not be able to be placed next to another or they have more points if placed in groups. In addition duplex tiles are used in round 2.

There are 3 rounds to fill a 4 x 4 grid with 16 tiles for each city.

Round 1 seven single tiles place 2 each turn for 3 turns discard 7th tile
Round 2 three duplex tiles place 2 discard 3rd tile
Round 3 Same as round 1

TILES:
Shops 16 Buildings + 8 Duplex
Factories 16 Buildings + 8 Duplex
Taverns 20 Buildings + 8 Duplex (7 of each type ( 4 types))
Offices 20 Buildings + 8 Duplex
Parks 16 Buildings + 8 Duplex
Houses 20 Buildings + 8 Duplex
See rule book pages 4-5 for an explanation of each.

This game is a semi-cooperative. You have two separate cooperatives going at a time but your goal is to make them both the highest scoring. The winner is the person that has the most points after using the lowest score of the cities they have with the partner on the right and on the left.

It is tile laying, it is drafting with some cooperative features.

I got it on Kickstarter and I was proud to help bring it to market. It has come to the table during our weekly meetup gaming group several times. The feedback I received from the other players is that they also enjoyed the game.

I highly recommend it. One of the best parts is that it can be played with 3-7 players. There is also a two player version and a solo version.

Give it a try I am sure you will enjoy it.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
31 out of 36 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
5
Novice Reviewer
Advanced Grader
Petroglyph
Go to the ROOK page
9
30 of 35 gamers thought this was helpful
Rukkus {Avid Gamer} Feb 8th, 2016
“My passion had to start somewhere.”

I was fortunate to grow up in a family that played games. Although they were games like Monopoly, Clue, Stratego, Sorry and Battleship and in my opinion there are a lot better games to choose from cards have always been a staple at family gatherings. Whether it is 500,Euchre,Spades or Rook there are things that I have learned from cards specifically Rook that has carried over to other games.
1. Making due with the hand you are dealt. Sometimes I have a laydown hand but most of the time I am hoping to get something good out of kitty or I’m relying of my partner to help me out. Rook teaches teamwork.
2. No guts, no glory. In many games it’s the player willing to take a chance that often comes out on top. Rook taught me you never know what might be in the kitty, and you won’t know unless you take the bid.
3. Know your limits. With the above being stated, I quickly learned that I had to be selective when I was going to take a risk or play it safe. That principle carried over to a lot of games. I can’t count the number of games lost because of being to aggressive, fortunately the wins out number the losses that’s what keeps me playing.
4. How to read people, knowing their tendencies. How to play to the strengths of my partner. Rook is often won or lost by being good or bad at this.
All in all it’s a great game because of many ways to play. I will put some of the house rules I am aware of in the “house rules” section. For me in was a gateway to learn and love lot’s of other games both card and board alike.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
30 out of 35 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile