Gamer Reviews

Return here often to read the latest reviews by gamers just like you. Rate their reviews to become a Professional Grader. Increase your Critic score by writing your own reviews and encouraging your friends and followers to rate them.

Recent Reviews

Filter by: Order by:
Player Avatar
6
Go to the Cinque Terre page
 
1 of 28 gamers thought this was helpful
SpookyMulder {Avid Gamer} May 24th, 2016
“Where is the Wizard?”

When I see this in the message for the week Adventure Explore I said this is the game about wizards and trolls making land. The one that isn’t Small World. I was excited because this game was interesting. I look and see this is a game about buying cabbages. WHAT? Who changed it???

Where are the wizard? Then I looked and realized that the game is Terre Mystique! I was fooled by these people! I am glad I was just reading for the adventure and not buying this in a store! I would have thought it was for magic but instead it would be vegetables.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
1 out of 28 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
7
USA
I play blue
Go to the Cinque Terre page
8
41 of 49 gamers thought this was helpful
Dick Dale {Avid Gamer} May 24th, 2016
“Easy to learn fun game”

I am not going to explain how to play the game. ClubFantasci and mish666uk have already done that. I was first introduced to this game about 6 months ago at a meetup game night. I had never seen or heard of the game. I fell in love with the game. It was very easy to learn. We played with 4 players and the the play moved quickly. Because the dice are rolled and placed at the beginning of each game it has great replay-ability.

You simply move around the board in one direction picking up goods in farms and delivering goods to a village. There is some strategy based on the cards you hold and the cards showing that make up the list of items to be delivered. There are 8 different goods and 5 villages.

Yes the cubes do not fit on the carts but the person who brought the game told us to keep the cubes collected on our player boards. So it was never an issue for me. The dice are wooden the other parts of the game are of good quality. I read the rules after I played the game so they were clear and easy to follow.

After playing it that first time I was able to find it on line at Miniature Market and ordered it. I have played it several times since I purchased it and have enjoyed it each time.

If you are looking for a easy to learn game with some depth this is the game for you. If you get a chance to play it do so it will make you a fan.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
41 out of 49 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Arrowhead
Tasty Minstrel Games Fan
Go to the The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game page
 
9 of 12 gamers thought this was helpful
B. Chereaux {Avid Gamer} May 24th, 2016
“Great theme, Needs more”

This is a game set in one of my all time favorite universes, but it really was a disappointment for me over all. If you are familiar with ccg mechanics (I play MTG) then this is a fairly simple transition to make and is nice to get some co-op play in. The main problem seems to be in the design of the game. The manufacturer can almost be seen, holding out a grubby hand for your money. I know that this is a game that will want you to buy expansions, but it seems like they could have given me a lot more in the base game, especially for the price.
PROS: great theme and artwork
simple mechanics
co-op play
CONS: base game doesn’t allow for full decks of any type
only enough tokens and counters for 2 players

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
9 out of 12 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Splendor page
 
12 of 14 gamers thought this was helpful
Amanda {Casual Gamer} May 24th, 2016
“Gem hoarding at its finest”

The rules are very easy to learn but there are so many ways to win! You really get to see different personalities through how people strategize in this game. Some like to buy every card they can afford right away, while some carefully manage their hand and go for the high value gems.

This is one of my go-to games on gaming nights because of it is easy to teach but still offers a good challenge. There are no fine prints in this game to read, only numbers and jewels.

There is now a Splendor mobile app for those that want to play it on the go. This game will keep you coming back time and time again.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
12 out of 14 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
2
Go to the Sushi Go! (Second Edition) page
 
13 of 16 gamers thought this was helpful
Amanda {Casual Gamer} May 24th, 2016
“We always go for sushi after Sushi Go.”

Everyone I’ve introduced Sushi Go to loved this game. Most of them are casual and social gamers and prefer games that are easy to pick up and fun to play. We always have laughs over who took what and how we foil each other’s collections. The cutely designed cards top the icing on the cake!

I preordered Sushi Go Party, the expanded version of this game with new mechanics and possibilities. Can’t wait to have another round of sushi. :)

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
13 out of 16 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Arrowhead
Tasty Minstrel Games Fan
Go to the Forbidden Island page
6
19 of 23 gamers thought this was helpful
B. Chereaux {Avid Gamer} May 23rd, 2016
“Lightweight co-op”

The game is easy to set up and has quality components. The rules are simple and didn’t take a lot of exampling or elaboration. The game could suffer from quarterbacking though if the players lack general experience with board games. The simplicity of the game does make for a good gateway as long as the familiar player can enjoy playing without letting the need to win or coach the other players take over.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
19 out of 23 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Arrowhead
Tasty Minstrel Games Fan
Go to the Manhattan Project page
8
19 of 22 gamers thought this was helpful
B. Chereaux {Avid Gamer} May 23rd, 2016
“not combat, not boring”

Although you might think that in a game about nuclear bombs there would be a fair amount of nuking, that is not true in the Manhattan Project. However, the game is far from boring. It is a great example of a worker placement game with more depth to its’ strategy than Lords of Waterdeep. There is more than one path to victory, but not so many that the game becomes inaccessible. It plays well with the full range of players, even just 2. The components are all quality, though I wish there were a few plastic minis (maybe the airplanes) instead of cardboard tokens. Although combat is not the main function of the game, it is possible to attack other players during the game, though it is not necessarily advantageous. The need to quickly amass victory points keeps players who are prone to combat from being able to afford to ruin others games.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
19 out of 22 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
3
Arrowhead
Tasty Minstrel Games Fan
Go to the Talisman page
9
20 of 22 gamers thought this was helpful
B. Chereaux {Avid Gamer} May 23rd, 2016
“Great lightweight RPG”

Where else can you be a dwarf riding a unicorn with a band of fairies, princes, hags, and donkeys following you as you vanquish dragons with your holy lance? The game mechanics are simple and the expansions really seem endless. It is an easy game to teach to new gamers, and has enough theme and player interaction to keep experienced gamers coming back time and time again. Each expansion (and there are several)adds something unique and have quality components. I get turned off a franchise when the expansions are simply a new skin or a fresh set of monsters, but never fear… in Talisman, the expansions offer new locations to explore and add alternate endings and game mechanics to keep things fresh without leaving the vibrant world they have created. Theme is everything in Talisman. They paint a colorful world full of memorable characters that tie together the fantasy theme well. The freedom to choose where your character goes doesn’t seem rigid even though there is only a dice roll to determine how many “spaces” you can travel. My only gripe with the game is that in a world so beautifully created, the base game box is horribly constructed. It is not anywhere near as useful a storage container as Lords of Waterdeep.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
20 out of 22 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the Machi Koro page
8
26 of 30 gamers thought this was helpful
leoleez {Avid Gamer} May 19th, 2016
“Replaced Catan, my economic go to”

Fast and easy. Machi Koro removes the numerical advantages on a board and so goes away the AP that makes Catan a slog to play through.

By offering interesting choices and by allowing you to customize a city. Machi Koro offers lots of strategic depth and does away with the less approachable aspects of economic board gaming. Machi Koro, like other economic games, offers more freedom than a classic board game. It does have one or two guaranteed strategies within the core box.

Machi Koro excels with at least one expansion, the core box will last you through 20-30 play throughs. This sounds like a lot, especially for the price tag, but with an expansion you can draft. Drafting makes the game feel like a hybrid between Catan and Dominion.

This game is my 2015 Economic game of choice and it will continue to be until something more interesting that is easier to teach pops up.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
26 out of 30 gamers thought this review was helpful
Player Avatar
1
Go to the Warhammer: Diskwars page
5
28 of 32 gamers thought this was helpful
leoleez {Avid Gamer} May 19th, 2016
“A great introductory miniatures war game”

Image a typical card game in terms of keywords and stats. Now round those pieces of cardboard. Make distance matter, add a command system, and add an element of chance. You get diskwars.

To be honest the disk flipping mechanic is really gimmicky. It’s interesting that the same disk has some differences, but really it makes it more AP prone.

Other than that, it is a solid game. Really easy to learn the rules, the only part I wasn’t 100% clear on if the LIFO resolution approach scrums (melees with multiple engagements). Looking at the rules a year later it seems to favor the reading that all disks both attack and a counter in engagements, which wasn’t intuitive to me at the time I first open up the game. Regardless a fourth example on the multiple engagements would’ve been nice.

Wounding versus damage was interesting, it really helps abstract the concept of wounding in comparison to damage for some less experienced wargames.

Simple dice and the range stick are only used in ranged attacks, this makes the gameplay fast. Command points by the numerical value on the cards was interesting especially because it has a RPS mechanic tied into as well. The command system doesn’t inhibit the turns and adds a bit of additional tactical flair by giving specific bonuses or disadvantages.

The engagement mechanic, simply if there’s a disk on top of another disk, the disk below is pinned and cannot move off. It seems pretty nifty at first, but pinning happens quite frequently, it makes the disks hard to read (the disks being laden with information), and sometimes the engagement resolves with neither side dying, meaning in the next round the disk underneath isn’t going to be able to move.

I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in wargaming, but doesn’t want to buy into a game system just yet. Try this cheap box out, and if you are interested in the style of game in a few months, pick a game you know you’d enjoy thematically.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
28 out of 32 gamers thought this review was helpful
× Visit Your Profile